Potato Chip Cookies

Growing up, my grandma was quite the baker.  For every holiday she’d bring at least three different types of cookies for us to have for dessert.  She constantly made different types of cookies, always looking for a new recipe or a twist on an old one.  I fully credit my love of baking to my time with her in the kitchen, and now I think I can also credit her with my constant restlessness when it comes to finding new recipes!

IMG_0458

Despite the rotating menu of cookies, these potato chip cookies always made an appearance.  They were my favorite, and I was known to sneak one or two before the big holiday meal.  I just loved the interplay of the sweetness of the cookie and the saltiness of the chips.  If you’re making these, don’t skip the powdered sugar topping.  While it’s not technically necessary, it adds that little something extra that takes the cookie from just good to get-those-away-from-me-before-I-eat-eight-hundred.

Potato Chip Cookies

IMG_0456

Ingredients

2 cups butter, softened

1 cup sugar

3 1/4 cups flour

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cup crushed potato chips

1/4 cup powdered sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugar.  Mix in the flour and vanilla.  Fold in the crushed potato chips.

Drop rounded teaspoons onto a prepared baking sheet, leaving about 2 inches between each cookie.  Using a fork, gently flatten each cookie.

Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until the edges are lightly golden.  Remove to a wire rack to cool and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

IMG_0455

Source:  Paula Deen

13 thoughts on “Potato Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: A Few Of My Favorite Things | Tip Top Shape

Leave a comment