Frittata with Sausage and Broccoli

Frittata is just not photogenic. I tried.  I really did.  But at the end of the day, eggs are sort of this jaundice-yellow color and no amount of photography tricks and natural lighting can fix that.  While I can’t attest to this meal’s cheery appearance, I can attest to its delicious taste.

IMG_0450

I love frittatas, and adding ground sausage just makes it that much better.  I also added some broccoli because I figured the frittata shouldn’t be straight protein and salt.  Feel free to sub in different veggies for the broccoli.  I’d keep it in the green family (i.e. spinach, asparagus, etc.) but if you want to go crazy and throw some tomatoes in there or something, I won’t judge.

Before the recipe, I need to share a quick story about how I have an uncanny ability to accidentally injure myself.  Okay, a quick two stories.  I’m not particularly clumsy, but sometimes I just have really off days.  And I mean, REALLY off days.  For example, when I was home for winter break, I grabbed one of the Harry Potter books from my bedroom and swung the hand with the book up to switch my light off.  This resulted in me accidentally punching my wall and ending up on the couch with a bag of frozen peas on my rapidly swelling hand.

This Saturday I had another doozy.  I got out of my car and reached behind me to close the door.  Naturally, I hadn’t moved out of the way of the door and slammed it on my back.  And I slammed that puppy HARD.  I’m moderately sure I actually did some damage, because it currently hurts like a you-know-what to do any sort of reaching.  Or to just lay in bed.

So, yay to me being a walking hazard to myself.

Frittata with Sausage and Broccoli

IMG_0451

Ingredients

6 eggs

1 tbsp milk

1/2 lb ground sausage

1 cup frozen broccoli florets, thawed

1/2 cup grated parmesan

salt/pepper

Directions

Turn on the broiler.

In a medium sauté pan, cook the ground sausage until browned and cooked through.  Remove the sausage to a separate plate and add the broccoli.  Cook until tender and heated through.  Add the sausage back to the pan.

In a small bowl, mix together the eggs and milk.  Pour the egg mixture into the sauté pan and cook until mostly cooked through.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and broil until the egg is cooked through and the top browned.

Source:  my brain

8 thoughts on “Frittata with Sausage and Broccoli

  1. Oh no! I hope you heal up quickly! I am so like that too. I literally punched myself in the face once (I was picking up a heavy object and it slipped out of my hand, but my hand kept coming up with lots of force as I was bending over which resulted in my hitting myself in the face). I far too frequently walk into walls. I can be terribly unobservant, ha! Anyway, I hope you heal soon!

    • omg, I shouldn’t be laughing at you accidentally punching yourself in the face..but I am. I was ALSO accidentally punched in the face, but not by myself. When I was in high school my friend in front of me was pretending to throw punches. The bus hit a bump and he accidentally punched me. Luckily, no real damage was done but he felt awful!

Leave a Reply

