Phillo Shells with Warm Apple-Cinnamon Chutney

This recipe was borne from a comedy of errors.  My initial dessert plan was to create an apple tart with some good ol’ frozen puff pastry dough.  For those of you unacquainted with frozen puff pastry – go and buy yourself some.  It’s the perfect way to create really quick, but still impressive, desserts on the fly.

Anyway, I went to my grocery store and rounded up all the ingredients, only to find that the store was out of puff pastry dough.  After some hemming and hawing – and making someone check in the back freezers – I resorted to frozen phillo shells.  I figured I could make some sauteed apples to go in the shells and then top it with a cannoli cream I’d made before.

My thought was solid.  My forthcoming execution decidedly was not.  First, I went with this cinnamon-apple chutney I’d used as a topping for pork.  I neglected to think that the flavors that meld well with pork might not work so well for a dessert.  Thankfully, that mistake was easily remedied with a little extra sugar.

Then I decided to whip the cannoli cream by hand.

On a scale of one to really-stupid-idea, it was pretty high up there.  After about five minutes and my generally unused arm throbbing, I caved and got out my mixer.  Considering the mixer is handheld and the only additional thing I’d have to wash were the two little beaters, I don’t really understand why I decided to do it by hand in the first place.

Anyway, miraculously the dessert came together, and considering that all of my friends had seconds I am going to go out on a limb and say it was a success.  In all seriousness, without my little hiccups, this is a very simple and fun dessert.  The phillo cups are different and the leftover apple chutney is great served with some plain ricotta.

Phillo Shells with Warm Apple-Cinnamon Chutney 

IMG_0318

Ingredients:

1 package of phillo dough shells

3 apples, peeled and chopped

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup craisins

1/3 cup ricotta

1/3 cup heavy whipping cream, plus 2 tbsp

2 tbsp powdered sugar

Directions:

In a saute pan, melt the butter and add the apple.  Saute under browned, roughly 8 minutes.  Add the cinnamon, sugars, craisins and apple cider vinegar and bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and cook for 5-8 minutes.  Set aside.

In a bowl mix together the ricotta and 1 tbsp heavy whipping cream.  In a separate bowl whip together the remaining heavy whipping cream and powdered sugar.  Whip until stiff peaks have formed, and then fold in the ricotta mixture.

To assemble, spoon the apple-cinnamon chutney into the phillo shells and then top with the ricotta cream.

10 thoughts on “Phillo Shells with Warm Apple-Cinnamon Chutney

  1. Haha! I definitely have moments when I start to do something because it will be “easier” than getting out another tool or gadget. I’m usually wrong, haha! Glad this turned out well, though!

  2. I know exactly what you mean about being lazy/hesitant to use kitchen equipment because you’ll have to wash it later (I’m often hesitant to use my food processor for that reason), but like you said, there are only two little beaters on a hand mixer! My fiancee and I made whipped cream AND homemade mayonnaise completely by hand SEVERAL times before finally caving in and buying a hand mixer (like a week before my sister gave me the exact same hand mixer for Christmas, which I then had to return…) so since we remember living without it all too well, now we are never reluctant to use it. 🙂

    Btw, this sounds great! I love the sound of apple-cinnamon chutney… mmm.

  3. Hihi, despite the errors, I think they look really delicious! The phillo dough must make the taste quite unexpected. I’ve only worked with phillo dough once. I made chocolate-hazelnut phillo rolls with it.

    Xx Daniëlle

Leave a comment