Roasted Pumpkin Pasta with Thyme Browned Butter Sauce

So, I watched 26 episodes of Don’t Trust the B in Apartment 23 in four days.  I don’t know whether this is something to brag about or only admit at the deepest rungs of depression.  I’m going to go with the former, mostly because that show is amazing and I like to think my unflagging dedication to TV shows is indicative of other redeeming qualities like loyalty and the ability to block out all distractions when necessary.

Anyway, I watched a few episodes when it aired but then I sort of fell off the bandwagon because it was college, and I was applying to law school, and blah blah blah.  The truth is that I’m just awful at watching shows if they’re not on Netflix.  It’s too hard to follow a regularly scheduled show with all my other school/life commitments.  Upon my fevered rewatch, I experienced once again the charm and absolute genius of Don’t Trust The B.

1.  James Van Der Beek plays James Van Der Beek.

He plays this super cheesy version of himself that just makes you love him.  I didn’t love James Van Der Beek after watching Dawson’s Creek.  In fact, I sort of irrationally hated him based off my disdain for Dawson.  After Don’t Trust the B, I love the Beek from the Creek.

2.  James Van Der Beek has THE SASSIEST personal assistant named Luther.

   

   

He also, apparently, is the worst wingman.

3.  Chloe is the girl we all know and hate/love.

Chloe is pretty much the worst.  Even worse, is the fact that we all have one in our lives that we love and tolerate.  I have one.  You have one.   We all have a Chloe.

4.  The Sexiest Man Alive Episode

They have an actual tie-in episode with People’s Sexiest Man Alive issue.  This was the first time I actually read an article in that magazine instead of just staring at all the man candy.   Kudos to you, People Magazine.

5.  All the Dawson’s Creek References.

    

With James Van Der Beek literally in the show, it’s no surprise there is some mention of Dawson’s Creek.  The great thing is that they use the show PERFECTLY.   Whether it’s an attempted reunion or James using it to get girls – every time the show is used it’s for a specific and hilarious reason.  It’s not a fallback joke when nothing else is on the page.  It’s THE JOKE OF ALL JOKES.

I’m sad this show is over but at least it’s on Netflix so I can get my bitch-ey fix any time I want!  You know what else I can do?!  Make this roasted pumpkin pasta with thyme browned butter sauce!

I made this with the harvest apple and spinach salad earlier this week and I already want to make it again.  Roasted squash, wilted spinach and pasta are tossed with thyme-scented browned butter.  It’s an elegant dinner that makes your Monday night feel a little bit fancier without too much effort.

I ended up using squash because my grocery store didn’t have pumpkins.  It worked out fine, so if you can’t find pumpkin feel free to sub in another squash.

This is a great dinner to share with friends and family.  Or to eat alone while watching endless episodes of Netflix.  Really, either way you’re winning.

Roasted Pumpkin Pasta with Thyme Browned Butter Sauce

IMG_0315

Ingredients

1 squash, peeled and chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

salt/pepper

1 lb pasta, preferably orchiette

8 oz baby spinach leaves

8 tbsp butter

1 tbsp fresh thyme

dash of fresh nutmeg

salt/pepper

parmesan for serving

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Roast the squash until fork tender – 20 or 25 minutes.  Remove and let cool.

Boil the pasta.  While it boils, heat a sauté pan over medium heat.  Add the spinach and a few drops of water.  Cover and cook until just wilted, 1-2 minutes.  Remove to a separate plate.

For the sauce, heat a sauté pan over medium heat and add the butter.  Cook the butter until it browns, stirring occasionally.  Make sure to watch carefully because the butter burns quickly.  Once burned stir in the thyme and nutmeg.  Remove from heat and add the spinach and squash.  Stir together and then add to the pasta.

Serve with parmesan cheese.

Source:  Annie’s Eats

6 thoughts on “Roasted Pumpkin Pasta with Thyme Browned Butter Sauce

  1. This looks amazing. You had me at “browned butter”. In other news, ” I like to think my unflagging dedication to TV shows is indicative of other redeeming qualities like loyalty and the ability to block out all distractions when necessary.” is my new life philosophy. LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

