Roasted Chickpea Tacos

Last night I decided to pretend that I was on Iron Chef instead of doing my work.  In retrospect, this was not the best idea.  I don’t know what it was about last night, but I wanted to do nothing related to law school.  I did everything I could to avoid doing actual work.  That meant washing nearly all the dishes in our dishwasher, which is currently broken.  I then went ahead and made dinner.  Made some random kale.  Cleaned the counters off.  Baked some rainbow sprinkle blondies.  Then it was eight o’clock and I had to watch The Following.

By the way, if you are not watching that show start immediately.  It is SO GOOD.

Anyhoo, then it was nine and I had to face the sad fact that I did, in fact, have work to do and I could not put it off any longer.  I actually ended up being very productive for the next two hours and went to bed without an ounce of guilt.

I mentioned dinner above, and it was one to put in the books.  As you might ascertain from the title of this post, I made roasted chickpea tacos ala Mama Pea.  It’s the perfect weeknight meal that is not only delicious but surprisingly healthy.  Crispy spiced chickpeas are paired with salsa, cheese and soft flour taco shells.  I didn’t even miss the meat in here because the chickpeas were so flavorful.  I have the leftovers on dock for lunch this afternoon, and I am already counting down the hours until lunchtime.

So, the bottom line is you should make these.  But preferably in a week when I am out of leftovers and you can invite me over.  I’ll bring the margaritas.


Roasted Chickpea Tacos

Photo: More tacos is always the correct answer

Ingredients:

1 14 oz can of chickpeas

2 tsps chili powder

1 1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp onion powder

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp lime juice

2 tbsp water

8 taco shells

Taco trimmings:  salsa, cheese, guacamole, sour cream, etc.

Directions:

Mix together all the ingredients except for the taco shells and taco trimmings and let marinate for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Roast chickpeas until slightly crispy, 25-30 minutes.  Assemble the chickpeas and trimmings in the taco shells.  

Stuff your face.

Source:  Peas and Thank You

10 thoughts on “Roasted Chickpea Tacos

  1. Okies, so I haven’t seen The Following yet, but one of my girlfriends was telling me about it last night and she said it was amazing!

  2. Pingback: Mexican Street Corn | Tip Top Shape

  3. Pingback: A Few Of My Favorite Things | Tip Top Shape

Leave a comment