Easy Garlic Bread

Please do not judge me by this garlic bread.  Because I already judged myself a whole lot when I made it.  Garlic bread made with garlic powder?  The inventor of garlic bread…whoever that is…is rolling in his or her grave.

I needed a starch to go with a meal this weekend and I didn’t have time or stove space to make something more substantial.  I thought about infusing the butter with garlic.  I thought about taking a clove and rubbing it directly on the bread.  I even thought of making it fancy with some herbs.  But then my sautéing steak decided to gift me with some exploding oil (no joke – it tried to take my face off) and my company was coming over in fifteen minutes.

I wanted simple.  I wanted easy.  I wanted some bastardized garlic bread.

The great thing about this is that it really is minimal fuss.  Just slice up some french bread.  Slather it with melted butter.  Sprinkle garlic powder.  Pop it in the oven.  When it comes out slather it with more butter until even the old Paula Deen would have been telling you to put the stick away.  That’s the mark of good garlic bread, in my opinion.  Lots of butter so that the crisp of the toasted bread is answered by the soft butter soaked center.

If you’re having a big fancy dinner with nice plates and ritzy wine, then this is not the garlic bread for you.  All those other dinners?  This garlic bread is for them.

Easy Garlic Bread

Photo: The most bastardized garlic bread known to mankind.

Ingredients:

1 loaf french bread, halved and then cut into slices

garlic powder

parmesan cheese

4 tbsp butter

Directions:

Melt 4 tbsp of butter in the microwave and separate half and put to the side.  Place the bread on a baking sheet and brush the butter on top of the bread.  Sprinkle garlic powder on top – using as much as your taste buds like.  Sprinkle on the parmesan cheese.

Broil the bread for 8-10 minutes, or until the cheese is melted.  Brush on the remaining 2 tbsp of butter on the bread and serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Easy Garlic Bread

Leave a Reply

