Spaghetti All’Arrabiata

I’m going through one of those phases were I hate absolutely everything in my closet.  For the record, my closet is fine.  It’s filled with clothes that at one time I liked, and I’m sure I’ll like them again, but recently I’ve just been uninspired.  I think it’s because I’ve had most of my clothes for a few years now, and I’ve re-styled and accessorized the crap out of them.  There’s literally no innovation left in me.

That means that a trip to Target is looming ahead of me and I am equal parts excited and terrified.  I love Target.  I love how you can go there for shoes and leave with detergent and throw pillows.  I love the smell of soft pretzels when you walk in from their food court and the sturdiness of their carts.  You may laugh at that last part but next time you’re there pay attention to those carts.  They are magic.  It’s a pretty fantastic place, but it is also a place that I have difficultly leaving without spending at least fifty dollars.

Target

Whenever I have a big shopping bill I try to balance it by being cheaper somewhere else.  This is usually when I turn to my pantry and try to avoid grocery shopping for the week.  You’d be surprised at how many solid meals can be made from just pantry ingredients.  It’s usually all those stock-up-items that you pick up at the grocery store without really thinking.  Like, chickpeas – I have enough canned chickpeas to make hummus for weeks.

This pasta dish came entirely from my pantry, but, even if you were to buy the ingredients it wouldn’t cost you more than ten dollars.  Talk about a bargain!  It’s not a fancy recipe but it’ll do the trick on just about any night you want a quick, cheap, and satisfying meal.

2013-08-26 07.30.03

This was my first time making spaghetti all’arrabiata and I can already tell that it’s going to become a weekday staple.  It’s just so simple.  Blended crushed tomatoes are simmered with some garlic, olive oil, sugar, and crushed red peppers.  It creates a smooth sauce with just the right amount of kick.  This recipe calls for spaghetti, but you could easily use this sauce on any type of pasta.

Spaghetti All’Arrabiata

2013-08-26 07.28.31

Ingredients:

8 oz pasta

1 24 oz. can crushed tomatoes with basil

2 clove garlic, minced

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp sugar

1 tsp red pepper flakes

Directions:

Cook the pasta according to the package instructions.  Blend the crushed tomatoes in a blender until smooth.  In a sauté pan heat the olive oil.  Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, roughly thirty seconds.  Pour in the blended tomatoes and add the sugar and pepper flakes.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes.

Source:  Eat, Live, Run

4 thoughts on “Spaghetti All’Arrabiata

  1. We’re always looking for simple and easy ways to spice up an ordinary pasta dish and this does just that- thanks! Good luck on your shopping trip to Target- I’m the same way, can’t leave that place without spending a ton!

  2. I had this earlier this week for a quick lunch one day. So simple and so good!

    Also, I love Target and their fabulously sturdy shopping carts! 🙂

Leave a comment