Chewy Lemon Cookies

This has been one strange week, folks.  It’s the first week of classes, which always lends to some strangeness.  I really enjoy classes because it forces 30 or something students to be together in a classroom, which allows one to observe many odd quirks that would otherwise be missed.  For example, yesterday before my Laws of War class, I saw someone put on deodorant while still in their seat .  I should note that he leaned forward in an attempt to minimize attention, but still, you’re putting deodorant on in class.  I’m judging you.

The best story, though, has to come from my shuttle ride home from school earlier this week.  I use a backpack for school because after schlepping around 800 pound books for months last year I finally broke down and bought one, despite the fact that it ruins literally all of my outfits.  It’s just impossible to look fashionable when you have a massive backpack on.  Try it.  You will fail.

post4

Anyway, back to the story.

I was wearing this outfit with a tank top that left my bra straps exposed.  By the way, it was definitely not a trashy outfit.  I don’t think I even own clothes that could be categorized as trashy.  Anyhoo, for some reason the bra straps have this little hook thing-ey and it  caught repeatedly on my backpack strap all day.  Well, I get on the shuttle and go to swing my backpack onto my lap when I sit down.  Of course, the hook grabs onto the backpack strap and I’m caught hovering over the seat as I attempt to disentangle it.  The guy next to me, seeing my struggle, gallantly offered to help.  I meekly nodded and he held the strap while I removed the hook ON MY BRA from the strap.

Only shit like this would happen to me.  Seriously.

To make a long story short, my bra’s hook was successfully removed from the backpack and I spent the entire shuttle ride avoiding any conversation or eye contact with the guy next to me.

The best way to recover from strange (and slightly mortifying) happenstances like the one detailed above is cookies.

2013-08-28 09.53.55

Really, I don’t know any better coping mechanism that copious amounts of butter and sugar.  These lemon cookies are great because they don’t require a mixer.  I actually have two mixers, and avoid using them whenever I can.   I just hate the extra mess and I always ended up getting creamed butter EVERYWHERE.  That stuff is a you-know-what to clean up.  So, the melted butter part of these cookies is pretty great.  And they taste good, too!

Chewy Lemon Cookies

2013-08-28 09.52.21

Ingredients:

2 cups, 2tbs flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 stick butter, melted and cooled

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg, 1 yolk

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp lemon zest

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325.

In a bowl mix together the flour, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.  In another bowl mix together the two sugars and butter until combined.  Mix in the eggs.  Next, add the lemon juice, zest and vanilla extract, and mix until smooth.  Mix in the dry ingredients, using hands if necessary to get everything incorporated.

Scoop about a tablespoon of dough on prepared baking sheets, leaving space between the cookies. These spread, so make sure you have enough room between them (1-2 inches).  Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the centers are firm and edges slightly browned.  

Source:  How Sweet Eats

By the way, this is what my kitchen table looks like every time I try to take “beauty shots” for this blog.

2013-08-28 09.54.52

I think it’s about time I got myself a cheapie photography table.

7 thoughts on “Chewy Lemon Cookies

  1. Pingback: Chewy Lemon Cookies | Chistoso Para Adsense

  2. The backpack thing always threw me for a loop in school. I had to break down and get one as well!

    LOL at the bra strap thing. I swear, that stuff happens to me all the time. Even now.

  3. Is it wrong for me to laugh at that story about the bra strap? Because I find it more than a little hilarious! Totally sounds like something that would happen to me.

Leave a comment