Simple Chicken Salad

This recipe is so easy that I’m almost embarrassed to put it here.  But, I know that some law students read this, and we all could use some embarrassingly easy recipes now and then.  The key to this recipe is a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken.  Just pick one up at the grocery store, and the chicken salad is about 75% done.

IMG_0248

I’d recommend making this ahead if you can and letting it marinate a bit in the refrigerator.  That extra 20-30 minutes really lets the flavors meld and it tastes better.  The refrigerator time also helps if you tried to make it when your chicken was still warm.  I might have done that.  If you’re using a nice chilled bird, though, and you’re not into waiting that 20-30 minutes, you could eat it immediately.  I’ll just be silently judging you.

I made this for my roommate and I, and while she ate it as a sandwich, the real way to go is to eat the salad alongside Wheat Thins.  Scooping it up with the Wheat Thins makes it tasty and interactive.  Plus, it’s Wheat Thins!  You can’t do better than them.  They’re salty perfection.

Or, I might just like Wheat Thins more than the average person.

Simple Chicken Salad

IMG_0247

Ingredients:

3 cups of chicken, cubed (from a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken)

1 cup grapes, halved

2 stalks celery, chopped

1/4 cup slivered almonds

1/2 cup mayonnaise 

1 tbsp lemon juice

salt/pepper

Directions:

Combine all the ingredients.  Add more salt and pepper to taste.  Serve alongside crackers, in a sandwich, or just on its own.

3 thoughts on “Simple Chicken Salad

  1. Interactive AND tasty? How delightful! But I still vote on a ‘knifoon’ for the interactive consumption of food. But that’s me. [I’m always right though, so…]

Leave a Reply

