Buffalo Chicken Dip

I’d like to introduce you all to the Buffalo Chicken Dip.

It’s basically the Enrique Iglesias of appetizers.  It’s spicy.  It’s hot.  And I can never, ever get enough.  I served it at a football party that my roommate Sarah and I threw Sunday night.  Sarah’s really into football.  I’m really into making a lot of food and watching people eat it.

What?!  Being a food blogger TOTALLY makes that okay.

There were really two reasons I was excited to have this party.  First, we were supposed to invite our law school crushes and then win them over with our sparkling personalities while I shoved food in their direction.  Second, I was finally going to make buffalo chicken dip.

Admittedly, the first didn’t happen.  Sarah’s crush couldn’t make it and due to my inability to string coherent sentences together around mine, an invitation was never extended.  I DID make buffalo chicken dip, though.  The entire time I was making it, I kept thinking it wouldn’t turn out well.  I mean, chicken and buffalo sauce seems on the right track.  But then cream cheese?  Ranch dressing??  What in the world am I serving people?!  Well, my worries were downright silly.  Chicken, buffalo sauce, cream cheese and ranch dressing TOTALLY go together.  And when piled on top of a tortilla chip?

Even better.

Buffalo Chicken Dip

1 1/2 lbs chicken

1 12 oz. bottle of Frank’s hot wing sauce

8 0z. ranch dressing (half a bottle)

1 block cream cheese

4 oz sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 cup chopped celery

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Poach the chicken and shred after letting it cool.  Spread the chicken on the bottom of a 9-inch casserole dish and pour the wing sauce over the chicken.  Mix well.

In a saucepan, heat the ranch sauce and cream cheese, whisking continuously.  You don’t want the cream cheese to clump.  Once combined, pour over the chicken.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Sprinkle the cheese on top and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes, until the cheese is bubbling. Let sit for 10 minutes before mixing well.  Serve with celery sticks, carrots or tortilla chips.

Source: Eat, Live, Run 

Gratuitous party picture!  Yay!

10 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Dip

Leave a comment