The Greatest Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever

I have such high hopes for my time spent in the law library.  I go in with my coffee and snacks and imagine all the reading and case briefing I’ll get done.  I’ll be so productive.  I’ll read ahead.  I’ll get all my work done and not have to schlep those eighty-pound casebooks home.

Then I end up on Facebook.

And email.

And this awesome Tumblr page that features famous guys with tiaras.

How is this not the greatest thing you’ve ever seen?!

Three hours later I leave with little accomplished and the usual, “Great, now I have to carry all of these books and commiserate over all the work I could have gotten done if I hadn’t been looking at pictures of men wearing tiaras.”

Then I go home and avoid more work by starting dinner at 4:30 and claiming that I HAVE to bake a batch of cookies.  Because, clearly, having sweets on hand is more important than being prepared for classes where you get called on randomly and potentially berated if you don’t know the answers.

Anyway, despite my waxing and waning on my lack of productivity, I actually do manage to get my work done every night and still have time for cookie-making and cookie-eating.  I made these last week and am just finishing off the batch.

The Greatest Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever

1 3/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

14 tbsp unsalted butter

1/2 cup white sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp salt

2 tsp vanilla

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

1 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.  

In a medium saucepan, melt 10 tbsp of butter.  Stir constantly and remove from heat when brown specks form at the bottom of the pan.  The butter will be golden in color and smell nutty.  Pour over the remaining 4 tbsp of butter and let come to room temperature.  

Mix with the sugars.  Add the egg, egg yolk and vanilla and whisk until combined.  Add the flour mixture and mix until just combined.  Don’t over-mix.  Fold in the chocolate chips.  

Drop roughly 3 tbsp of cookie dough for each cookie onto a prepared baking sheet.  Bake 10-12 minutes.  Let the cookies rest on the pan for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Source:  Eat, Live, Run

2 thoughts on “The Greatest Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever

Leave a Reply

