Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Overnight Oats

I’ve taken up the very bad habit of the snooze button. I’ve always done it, but typically I’d snooze for ten maybe twenty minutes at the max, and I’d be good. I actually built snooze time into when I woke up to allow what always felt like a luxurious extra few minutes of sleep. Well, lately it’s been a lot more than ten minutes. It’s never made me late for school or work, but I know it’s just a matter of time. So, starting tomorrow morning I am going to try not to hit the snooze at all. According to a very trustworthy source (cough…Google…cough) it takes twenty one days to set a habit.

giphy

You might have noticed that I am only posting once a week over here. I was reluctant to drop down to once a week, but with school and my new job doing more than that is just too difficult. Also, I feel like it gives readers more time to actually view the post. It’s up all week, so you guys have seven whole days to catch it!

200-1

 

Sorry for this being a day late, by the way. I was wrapped up in cleaning and cooking for my Valentine’s Day party and then Sunday I had the worst junk food hangover, which led to heartburn/stomachaches so bad that I almost went to our health center yesterday. I learned the very important lesson that buffalo wild wings, champagne, candy, and potato chips are not a good combination for me. No, they are not.

giphy-2

Despite it being Fat Tuesday, I’m trying to eat healthy. Call it absolving for my weekend sins. Call it not wanting to writhe in pain all day. I DO have a fun recipe for you, though! I’m sure you are all familiar with Chocolate Covered Katie, and while I don’t make her recipes particularly often, I do like her breakfast offerings. When I saw these overnights oats, I knew I had to make them. I think a scaled down batch of these would be perfect for dessert!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Overnight Oats

2015-01-30 22.54.02

Ingredients

1/2 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 cup milk (any type will do!)
1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp mini chocolate chips

Directions

Combine the first four ingredients in a bowl and let chill in a refrigerator for several hours. If you’re making this for breakfast, I’d recommend chilling overnight. When you are ready to eat, add the chocolate chips, stir, and enjoy!

Source: Chocolate Covered Katie

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Overnight Oats

    • it’s great cold! And, the snooze-button thing is successful so far! I almost reached over to hit it this morning, but then remembered not to! I have to say, I feel more rested than I typically do in the morning.

  1. Good luck with your no snooze button challenge! And good luck with your work and school, sometimes doing so much can be really draining, and your blog should be a fun space, so I can’t wait to follow along with how everything is going 🙂 Love overnight oats, and this version sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

