Mexican Cauliflower Soup

I’m a little embarrassed to admit that this is the first time I have ever used cauliflower in soup.  Besides roasting it, cauliflower has never been something I used really often in cooking.  Last week, though, I was eating leftover chicken tortilla soup and came to the illuminating conclusion that I don’t really like chicken.

giphy

I know, you’re thinking of all those chicken chili recipes that I posted this winter.  I didn’t hate it in all those, but I was actively picking around the chicken in the chicken tortilla soup to get to the all the vegetables.  Naturally, I thought to myself: why don’t you make chicken tortilla soup without the chicken?  For some reason, the first vegetable I thought to add was cauliflower!  I love the texture cauliflower adds to the soup.  The smaller pieces are almost like rice.  It also adds body to what could be an otherwise light vegetable soup.

2015-02-08 03.31.53

I liked to serve this alongside a quick quesadilla, or just a flour tortilla.  You could do a salad, but I personally think the soup is filled with enough veggies, so you can splurge a bit on the side!  Like most soups, it gets better while it sits.  One thing to note is that the vegetables absorb a lot of the broth when it’s in the refrigerator.  If you like a really soup-y soup, I would add a bit more broth.

Mexican Cauliflower Soup

2015-02-08 03.31.29

1 tbsp olive oil

3 carrots, peeled and chopped

2 celery ribs, diced

1 green pepper, seeded and chopped

1/2 head of cauliflower, cut into small florets

1 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp cumin

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

pinch red pepper flakes

4 cups broth

14 oz can Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles

4 oz can green chiles

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

Directions

Heat the oil in a soup pot over medium heat.  Add all of the vegetables and cook until tender, 8-10 minutes.  Add the spices and mix to combine.  Pour in the broth, diced tomatoes, green chiles, and black beans.  Bring the soup to a boil and then reduce to a simmer.  Cook for 15-20 minutes.

20 thoughts on “Mexican Cauliflower Soup

  1. Ha, I’m the same way with chicken sometimes! We eat Mexican inspired bowls like this frequently (with lots of cheese and avocado and tortilla chips on top…) and I love the idea of making it a little healthier with some cauliflower!!!

  2. I love me some cauliflower – this soups looks delicious! I’m kind of eh about chicken anyway. I don’t dislike it but I just much prefer other things I think!

Leave a Reply

