No Packet Turkey Tacos

I took a week off from here and now feel all fresh and renewed!  Okay, that’s a lie.  I actually took a week off because I’m adjusting to my new schedule which includes a part-time job (yay money!) and a class load that is way too heavy considering I only need eleven credits to graduate.  But, let’s be real, I’m physically incapable of not taking on too many things, so…YOLO?

My new schedule means I have to do most of my early week work over the weekend.  I make these really anal retentive lists on Friday and write down every little thing I have to do.  These past two weekends I’ve been successful in getting about 80% of the list completed.  I’d get to 100% if it weren’t for Netflix.  Oh, Netflix.  Lately I’ve been working my way through Parenthood and crying all over the place.  I cry at the happy stuff.  I cry at the sad stuff.  I cry at the really corny stuff because even though it’s ridiculous I’ve become too invested in these characters and basically have no control over my tear ducts.

Speaking of Parenthood, I came across the lead actress Monica Potter’s website (mrspotter.com) and am sort of obsessed with it.  The website is filled with recipes, cleaning tips, and DIY projects.  There also is a skincare/kitchen line for sale there!  It is an absolute playground for anyone who has the nesting bug like me and I bet if you visit the website you will find yourself losing an hour or two.  I’ve already made a few of her recipes, as well as her DIY winter skin balm which I promptly spilled all over my counter.  These tacos are from there, and oh my word, do I love them.  The best thing about them is that they literally take 10 minutes.  As long as you have your taco fixing all ready, you just cook up the meat and have a quick and healthy dinner ready to go!

No Packet Turkey Tacos

IMG_0501

Ingredients

1 lb ground turkey

2 tbsp chili powder

2 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp onion powder

1 tbsp garlic powder

pinch red pepper flakes

3 tbsp water

Directions

Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Add the turkey, breaking up as it browns.  When it is fully cooked, remove the turkey and drain any drippings.  Return the turkey to the skillet and add the water and spices.  Stir until fully incorporated.  Spoon into taco shells and top with taco fixings of your choice!

Source:  Mrs. Potter

18 thoughts on “No Packet Turkey Tacos

  1. I feel ya–I am the queen of taking on too much and then writing myself never-ending to-do lists that stress me out. Good luck with everything! Tacos were a staple at my house growing up. I love that these are healthier without the hamburger and sodium-laden spice pouch!

  2. excited to visit her website–sounds cool. Those tacos look tasty and I’m always glad to not use the packet. My husband thinks that’s how it’s done and I point out that we already have the same spices in our cabinet. But sadly he doesn’t get it. Lucky thing he has me, haha. Good luck with all on your end!

    • I have spent way too much on that website! I thought I’d be good after my first big clicking-binge, but I find myself there at least a few times a day just clicking through the posts! That is too funny about your husband, by the way! Men and their silly cooking notions!

    • Yes, only 11! I can’t believe it’s almost over! And…I think my studying sessions were more the breaks from Netflix than the other way around, lol. I’m going to try to be a bit more productive this weekend! But, we’ll see how that goes…

  3. First of all we are soul mates!! I am watching Parenthood on Netflix right now and crying all over the place. ridiculously amazing. And secondly, wow that website. I found a new addiction yo. I had no idea Christina did that. Ok, tacos!!! Love them!!

    • First Criminal Minds and now Parenthood?! We are basically TV soul mates. And, isn’t the website great?? When I first discovered it (during finals, no less) I swear I went through every beauty post in one sitting. I couldn’t stop clicking through!

  4. Yay for Parenthood obsessions! It’s the best/worst. Also, I need to check out Monica’s site…I feel like it would make me fall even more in love with her.

Leave a Reply

