Chicken Enchilada Chili

Are you sick of soup yet?  I’m not.  I should rename this blog Tip Top SOUP.  Not really.  That would be an awful blog name.  I actually considered changing my blog name recently because this blog started as a healthy living blog and then turned into, well, this blog.   But then every name I came up with turned out to already be a blog, and I eventually ran out of food puns.

So, Tip Top Shape it is.

Yesterday was my first day of classes for the semester (also my LAST first day of school…weird) and I got to school around 8:45 for my morning class.  Naturally, I ran into one of my friends whose first words to me were, “What are you doing here?”

Considering we both had the same 9:00 class I told him, “I’m going to that class we have together.”

After much confusion it turned out the class was moved to 12:30.  Which meant I was at school at 8:45 in the morning for absolutely no reason.  Luckily I brought some reading to do, so I went to the clinic office and weirded everyone out by eating my kale salad lunch at 10:40.

The moral of this story is that you should re-check your class times before you schlepp over to the school early in the morning.  Also, bring more snacks.  And eat this soup that I have failed to mention previously.

This is usually the part where I would go into explaining the soup, but frankly, it’s 7:23 in the morning and I have to get dressed for class still AND drink my vat of coffee.  So, I’ll just tell you that if you follow the original recipe this soup is an absolute cheese-palooza (so much cheese, guys!!!) and you’d be silly not to eat it.

The end.

Chicken Enchilada Chili

IMG_0403

Ingredients

2 tbsp butter

1 onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

2 tbsp flour

2 cups chicken broth, low sodium if possible

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup frozen corn

1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes, preferably fire roasted

1 10 oz can red enchilada sauce

2 10 oz cans green enchilada sauce

3/4 cup cheddar cheese (if you want to follow the original recipe use 1 cup of cheddar and 1 cup of jack)

1 1/2 cups shredded cooked chicken breast

salt

tortilla chips, for topping

Directions

Heat the butter in a large soup pot over medium heat.  Add the onion and green pepper, and cook until softened, about 5 minutes.  Add the flour and stir for one minute.

Stir in the chicken broth, whisking as you go to break up any clumps.  Add the black beans, corn, diced tomatoes, and enchilada sauces.  Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer.  Cook uncovered for 15 minutes.

Stir in the cheese and chicken.  Cook until the cheese has melted and your chicken is cooked through, about 3 minutes.  Season to taste with the salt.

Source:  Slightly adapted from Heat Oven to 350

9 thoughts on “Chicken Enchilada Chili

  1. OMgosh, yay for cheese. I’ve made chicken enchilada chili but it had no cheese mixed in. And I haaaate showing up early (as in hours or days lol) for things. Such a waste of time. 😛

Leave a Reply

