Bruschetta with Tomato, Parsley, and Fontina

These pictures are terrible.  I am really sorry.  Next week I am back at school with my nice camera and this can actually look like a somewhat reputable food blog again.  Anyhoo, the food.  Let’s talk about food.

I really like bruschetta.  I serve it a lot at dinners because it’s quick to put together and nice to nosh on when I am predictably running fifteen minutes behind.  I went through a large pureed topping streak – think eggplant and cannelinis or chickpeas with sundered tomatoes – but there really is nothing better than the traditional chopped tomato version.  There’s a reason it’s a classic.

My go-to is tomato, cucumber, and basil but I was working out of my pantry and only had the tomatoes.  Luckily, I had some other odds and ends in my refrigerator from other recipes, and ended up coming up with something pretty delicious.  I paired the chopped tomatoes with parsley, fontina cheese, and a tart balsamic vinaigrette.  They’re still traditional Italian flavors, but a step away from what I usually make.  I liked this so much that I may actually swap it out for my usual bruschetta!

Bruschetta with Tomato, Parsley, and Fontina

IMG_0435

Ingredients

8 slices of a french baguette

2 tomatoes, seeded and diced

1 ounce fontina cheese, diced

parsley, minced

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp olive oil

pinch of salt/pepper

Directions

Turn the broiler on.  Lay the bread out on a baking dish and brush with oil.  Broil until the bread has turned golden, about 5 minutes.

In a small bowl whisk together the vinegar, oil, salt, and pepper.  Taste the vinaigrette and add more salt/pepper as needed.  Toss the tomatoes, parsley, and fontina with the vinaigrette.

Carefully top the bread slices with the tomato mixture and serve.

IMG_0436

Source:  Loosely adapted from The Tucci Kitchen

12 thoughts on “Bruschetta with Tomato, Parsley, and Fontina

  1. We really love bruschetta around here. Typically I crack open a glass jar of Trader Joe’s bruschetta though…yours looks WAY better!

    Hope you are enjoying your time off!

  2. I’m a big fan of balsamic on bruschetta, but I’ve never tried fontina with it! As if I needed another reason to put some cheese on bread……ha!

Leave a Reply

