Lemon Turkey Soup with Spaghetti

We made a large turkey dinner for New Years, and afterwards we were left with a good portion of the seventeen pound bird.  In an effort to help my family eat lighter, I offered to repurpose some of the turkey into healthy dinners.  My first inkling was for a turkey salad (like a chicken salad!) with toasted almonds and dried cranberries, but my dad probably would have considered that “woman food” so I went the soup route instead.

I won’t go into soup talk, because we all know how much I love it, but I WILL say that this was a rousing success.  People had seconds, which is pretty much the best compliment a cook can get.  The cool thing about this soup is the cheese gives the broth an almost creamy consistency.  To make this healthier, feel free to cut back on the cheese.  Honestly, I wasn’t measuring and I think I used less than a cup but it still created a really nice consistency.  Also, I’d recommend reduced sodium broth.  And, of course, always feel free to add more green stuff to the soup!  I think some spinach would have gone really nicely with this.

Lemon Turkey Soup with Spaghetti

IMG_0438

Ingredients

6 cups of turkey broth

1/3 cup fresh lemon juice

2 carrots, thinly sliced

1/2 onion, chopped

1 celery stalk, thinly sliced

2 cups of white turkey meat, diced

1/2 cup broken spaghetti, other small pasta

1/4 cup fresh parsley, minced

1 cup romano cheese

salt/pepper

Directions

Bring the lemon juice and broth to a boil.  Add the onion, celery, and carrot.  Cook until the vegetables are tender, around 8-10 minutes.  Add the broken spaghetti and cook according to package instructions.  In the last two minutes of the spaghetti cooking time, add the turkey and heat through.

Add the romano cheese and parsley, and stir.  Season to taste with salt/pepper.

Source:  Giada’s Weeknight Meals

18 thoughts on “Lemon Turkey Soup with Spaghetti

  1. Soup is always a great way to go and theburat of fresh lemon in this makes it perfect for the not so great weather we are having!

Leave a Reply

