Sweet Potatoes With Sage Butter Crumb Topping

Yesterday, was a big day for my household.  We all finally finished Breaking Bad – I finished it last year, but now my family is caught up – and I had perhaps one of the more amusing allergic reactions to a food.

We watch Breaking Bad on my Netflix account, and because our TV is from the 90s, it doesn’t have those fancy plugins.  This means we – ALL FOUR OF US – sit on the couch and watch it on my computer.  It’s nice family time but also a little crowded because FOUR PEOPLE.

Anyhoo, my dad cut up some meat and cheeses for us to nibble on while we watched the last few episodes.  Because this is my family, we didn’t have normal pepperoni or lunch meat, but Hungarian sausage.

You can probably guess what caused the allergic reaction.

I went to the bathroom during one of the episodes and saw that my cheeks were really, really flushed.  It looked like I had a nice slap on each side of my face.

m215698517

C. Aguilera, did you eat some Hungarian sausage, too???

I waited until we finished the episodes to tell my dad – PRIORITIES – and then he immediately gave me some antihistamines.

Moral of the story – do not eat Hungarian sausage.

Eat this sweet potato casserole instead.  Remember that stuffing I posted on Monday that I hated?  This is the exact opposite.  I also made this for Thanksgiving and could not stop eating it.  I had about eight hundred helpings, and each bite was better than the last.  The sage in this really makes the dish.  The herb permeates the entire casserole and gives it this really warm and wintery flavor.  Although I made this for a holiday, I think it definitely can fit into a regular weeknight meal!

Sweet Potatoes with Sage Butter Crumb Topping

IMG_0342

Ingredients:

2 lbs of sweet potatoes, cubed

1 lb yukon potatoes, cubed

10 tbsp of butter, divided

1 – 2 tbsp sage, minced

1 1/2 cups warm milk

1 cup fresh breadcrumbs

salt/pepper

Directions

Boil the potatoes and drain.  Mash with a potato masher until the potatoes are mixed and uniform.  Meanwhile, in a saucepan cook the butter until it browns.  The butter will turn amber in color and have a nice nutty aroma.  Make sure to watch the butter because it burns quickly.

In a bowl, mix together the mashed potatoes, browned butter, 1 1/2 tbsp of sage, warm milk, and salt and pepper.  Scrape the potatoes into a 2 quart casserole dish.  This part can be made up to two days before you plan to serve the potatoes.

In a small bowl, mix together the breadcrumbs, 2 tablespoons of melted butter, and 1/2 tbsp sage.  Spread over the potato mixture.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for 30 minutes, until warm and bubbling.  If the breadcrumbs brown too much you can add tinfoil on the top.

Source:  Annie’s Eats

14 thoughts on “Sweet Potatoes With Sage Butter Crumb Topping

  1. This sounds really good, Liz–I’m looking for more recipes that use sage–it’s not an herb I use often, but I’ve liked the recipes I’ve tried with it!

  2. Oh no!! At least now you know to avoid Hungarian sausage at all costs! This sweet potato casserole looks amazing. Love how it’s full on savory and not dessert-disguised-as-dinner.

  3. lol, you had 800 helpings? How many times did you multiply your recipe? 😉 Sorry about the breakout–you do seem to get yourself into food messes, haha. This casserole looks faboo. I’m almost done with the second season of BB. Can only watch in small amounts as it is so bleak. Love that you watched it all cozy-like with your family.

Leave a Reply

