Sausage and Kale Stuffing

The weather has been beautiful and sunny for the past month or so, but naturally it decides to turn when I have to drive two and a half hours for a wedding.  It’s not just snow, either, it’s freezing rain which in my opinion in worse.  At least you can see snow, but icy streets are less easy to pick up on.  (Black ice, anyone?)  I decided to stay home partially because I’m skittish driving in winter weather (especially on expressways) but also because my parents strongly suggested I stay back, which means if I got into any sort of accident I would never hear the end of it.  Also, you know, I didn’t want to end 2015 in a ditch.

#NoDitchesFor2015

Needless to say, I was unhappy about having to miss the wedding, so I did what any other disappointed, 24 year old food blogger would do.  I started menu planning.  Nothing cures disappointment and mild heartburn more than looking at pictures of delicious food.  Of course, eating said delicious food would have been better, but beggars can’t be choosers.  I ended up picking some pretty baller recipes that I can’t wait to share with you all!

In the meantime, I am bringing you a stuffing recipe that I absolutely hated but the rest of my family (and extended family) loved.  I made this for Thanksgiving, and while I couldn’t get past one or two forkfuls, the rest of my family was happily scooping up second and third helpings from the casserole dish.  Everything in it sounds good, so I think I’m just going chalk my dislike up to wonky tastebuds – i.e. taste buds after a glass or two of wine.  Based on my family’s stuffing-overtures, I would definitely recommend trying this for your next heartier meal.  It takes some time to prep, but once you get it in the oven it requires minimal attention.

Sausage and Kale Stuffing 

IMG_0340

Ingredients:

8 tbsp butter

1 1lb sausage, casing removed

4 celery ribs, diced

2 onions, diced

1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme

2 tsp chopped fresh rosemary

1 bunch of kale, stems removed

3 cups chicken stock

1 1/2 lbs day old bread, cubed

2 large eggs

1/4 cup chopped parsley

4 ounces provolone cheese, cubed

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

In a large dutch oven brown the sausage in 6 tbsp of butter, breaking it up as you cook it.  Add the celery, onion, thyme, rosemary, salt, and pepper and cook until the vegetables are softened.  Add the kale and cook for another three minutes, until it softens.  Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil.

Meanwhile, in a separate bowl whisk together the eggs and parsley.  In a large bowl, mix together the sausage mixture, whisked parsley-eggs, and the bread.  Fold in the cheese.  Pour into a prepared 3 quart baking dish.  Take the remaining 2 tbsp of butter and chop into small bits.  Dot the top of the casserole with the butter.  Bake for 30 minutes covered with tinfoil.  Remove the tinfoil and cook a remaining twenty minutes.

Source:  Food Network Magazine

14 thoughts on “Sausage and Kale Stuffing

    • I think it was too rich, maybe? I don’t know! I’ve made it twice actually (we did a Thanksgiving themed New Year dinner) and didn’t like it either time. Obviously there is something wrong with my tastebuds, lol. Anyhoo, let me know how you like it if you decide to give it a go!

  1. can almost smell if off the page–yum! But you did not like? Hmmmm… Yeah, maybe the wine. Winter bites–not fond of it at all. Sorry you missed the wedding.

  2. Bummer that you missed the wedding, but at least you’re safe! And alive! My family and I never agree on food, so I totally understand. This sounds pretty darn good to me!

Leave a Reply

