Pan-seared Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

I hope you all had a wonderful start to your new year!  I ended 2014 with the stomach flu, which you know, was great.  There’s nothing like calling your brother to pick you up from your NYE party because you’re dry heaving in a bathroom that is not your own.  I went home and stayed up until precisely 12:01, which was when I blissfully passed out in my own bed with flannel pajamas and a nice scrubbed face.  It wasn’t exactly how I wanted to ring in the new year, but I did wake up without a stitch of a hangover or raccoon eyes.  I mean, sure, I still had all those flu symptoms but at least they weren’t self imposed.

I’d like to ask all of you to bear with me for the next few weeks.  I left my nice camera at school, which means all my photos in the near future will be from my phone.  And, it appears I have a shaky hand because ALL OF THEM ARE BLURRY.

I promise you the food still tastes good.

These brussels sprouts, guys.  I don’t even have words.  You start with some fried bacon, which is like starting a movie’s cast with Meryl Streep.  You know good things are happening.  Then, you add some previously roasted brussels sprouts to the pan – which is gloriously coated with bacon fat – and, hello, gorgeous side dish.  Or main dish.  I’d happily eat a large dinner plate of these and nothing else.

Pan-seared Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

IMG_0332

Ingredients:

2 lb brussels sprouts

2 tbsp oil

salt/pepper

4 pieces of bacon, fried

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Cut the ends off the brussels sprouts and quarter them.  Spread on a baking sheet and sprinkle liberally with oil, salt, and pepper.  Roast until the outsides are crispy and the insides tender – 30 minutes or so depending on your oven.

Meanwhile, in a large saucepan fry the bacon until crispy.  Remove to a paper towel and then chop roughly.  Transfer the brussels sprouts to the pan where the bacon fried and toss in the bacon fat.  Remove the brussels sprouts to a serving dish and sprinkle with the chopped bacon.

Source:  Slightly adapted from Ina Garten and How Sweet Eats recipes.

13 thoughts on “Pan-seared Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

  1. Pingback: Kale Salad with Orange-Maple Vinaigrette | Tip Top Shape

Leave a Reply

