Green Beans with Browned Butter and Almonds

I went to an ugly Christmas sweater party with friends recently and our ugly sweater game was ON POINT.

10882302_10152974892774429_254188105275253666_n

The usual and definitely necessary “funny faces” photo.

I didn’t own an ugly Christmas sweater so I tasked my brother to find me one on a thrift store shopping trip.  He came home with a gem of a sweater.  I couldn’t have found an uglier one if I tried.

IMG_0426

I’d like to note I showed this picture to my grandma and she went, “Oh, what a cute sweater!”  It just shows, one person’s ugly sweater is another person’s, well, not ugly sweater.  The one thing I will say about this beauty is that it was nice and warm.  I think I’m so accustomed to wearing the light knits and cardigans that are popular these days that I forgot what it’s like to wear a proper sweater.   It was warm…and sometimes a little sweaty.

Anyhoo, I made these green beans for the dinner.  We all chose what we wanted to bring, and while I usually am the queen of desserts I wanted to try something different.  Of course, I still ended up using browned butter.  Because, it really does make everything taste better.  Green beans are paired here with browned butter and toasted almond slivers.  It’s a nice change from your run of the mill vegetable side!  I seem to remember this being a How Sweet Eats recipe, but when I tried to google it nothing came up.  So, at the least it is How Sweet Eats inspired!

Green Beans with Browned Butter and Almonds

IMG_0335

Ingredients:

2 lbs green beans

6 tablespoons butter

1/3 cup slivered almonds

salt

Directions

In a large soup pot, bring water to a boil.  Salt the water generously.  Add the green beans and cook for 5-7 minutes, until tender.  Drain and rinse with cold water to stop the cooking.

In a saucepan, melt the butter.  Cook until the butter has browned, watching for an amber coloring and nutty smell.  Watch the butter – as it turns pretty quickly from browned to burned.  In a separate dry saucepan toast the almonds until lightly browned, around 5 minutes.

Mix together the green beans and browned butter.  Sprinkle with toasted almonds.

6 thoughts on “Green Beans with Browned Butter and Almonds

Leave a Reply

