BBQ Chicken Chili

It’s been over a month. I’d like to say I’m surprised but it was finals, and then it was the holidays, and then of course I needed to go play with all of my new toys. Although, let’s be real, I’m too old for toys. This year I got a bunch of fancy candles like the old lady I am. I picked them out with my mom at the Bloomingdales Home store and she proved her sainthood yet again by humoring me as I proceeded to smell every candle in the store about eighteen times. I also got a 1936 Gone With The Wind that I’m sort of afraid to touch because MONEY.

anigif_enhanced-20598-1415811492-1

I feel the need to tell you about what I’ve been cooking in my time away from the interwebs. The answer is soup. So much soup. Living alone, I really love making soup because I can make a big pot on Sunday and literally have meals for two weeks. Of course, I don’t ACTUALLY eat it for two weeks straight, but I like having the option. I like knowing that I if I don’t want to cook there’s soup waiting for me in the refrigerator or freezer and odds are I’ll like it. Of course, when I don’t want to cook I usually end up in the Meatheads drive thru, but it feels like a more conscious (i.e. not giving up on life and pants sizes) decision with leftovers in my freezer.

Today, I bring you one of the soups that I have already made twice. It is from How Sweet Eat’s cookbook, which means it has to be good. Seriously, when has she put out a recipe that isn’t delicious?

IMG_0358

I love BBQ. I always have a bottle in my refrigerator – usually Sweet Baby Ray’s – and will dip just about anything in it. It’s probably all that brown sugar and salt, but everything tastes better drenched in barbecue sauce. What I love about this recipe is that once you have your chicken cooked and shredded (you do this beforehand) the soup takes about forty minutes from stove to bowl. I don’t know about you, but I have too much to do to slave away in front of the stove. I have people to see. Leftover Christmas cookies to shovel into my mouth. A FULL DVR to get through. So much to do, guys. Thank goodness for quick recipes like this!

BBQ Chicken Chili

IMG_0390

Please excuse this dark photo.  It has a lot going against it.  I took it at night, on my lap, with my phone, AND decided to play around with filters.  It’s a wonder it turned out at all!

Ingredients

2 tbsp olive oil

1 cup red onion, diced

1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 tbsp smoked paprika

1 tbsp plus 2 tsp chili powder

1 tbsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp salt

pinch red pepper flakes

12 oz shredded chicken

12 oz jar roasted red peppers in water, drained and chopped

1 can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed

1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

3 cups low sodium chicken stock

28 oz diced tomatoes, with juices

1/2 cup barbecue sauce (I’d recommend a thinner sauce)

cheddar cheese, for topping

Directions

Begin by cooking your chicken.  I like to poach mine.  Bring water to a boil in a large sauce pan.  Add the chicken, making sure it is submerged entirely, and simmer until cooked through, about 15-20 minutes depending on the size of your chicken breast.  Let cool slightly and shred.

In a large stock pot add the olive oil, onion, jalapeño pepper, and garlic.  Cook until soft, around 5 minutes.  Next, add in your spices.  Stir and cook for about 5 minutes more.  The onion mixture should get nice and fragrant.

Add the chicken, red peppers, beans, chicken stock, tomatoes, and barbecue sauce.  Stir to combine.  Bring the mixture to a boil and then reduce to a simmer.  Cover the pot and let cook for twenty minutes.  Remove the lid, adjust seasonings if needed.  Cook another 10 minutes.  This is a soupier chili than most.  If you want it thicker let it cook a little longer, some of the liquid should evaporate.

Source:  How Sweet Eats cookbook

8 thoughts on “BBQ Chicken Chili

  1. I hear you on the month of things to do. Ive been succesful at doing nothing at all and still managing to stay away from the interwebs for a week. I am cooking a lot and soup is really a great meal for a week. Love this recipe and will look it up in the book. Still going through it.

Leave a Reply

