Parmesan-Rosemary Breadsticks

Ladies, this post is for you.  Any men reading, well, things are about to get moderately awkward.  You’ve been warned.

There is nothing I hate more than my time of the month.  Really.  I would take a lifetime of finals, a world without coffee, and television that only played Cake Boss every hour of the day if it meant that I would never have to lay in bed at night, clutching at my stomach because it feels like something is trying to claw its way out of my uterus.

I always get testy when men make light of the situation.  My dad does it sometimes when I’m home and I just want to yell – YOU DON’T KNOW MY WOMANLY PAIN.  I actually do worse than that.  My dad is a doctor so I consider it completely acceptable to respond with overly medically graphic responses.  It’s especially fun when my brother is there and has the sort of traumatized look on his face that I can only imagine my kids will wear when they get their first birds and bees talk.

Anyhoo, the only good thing about all of this is that in my four to five days of pain I feel completely justified in eating whatever the hell I want. I follow my cravings like they are commandments from the big man upstairs.  Popcorn and wine for dinner?  Well, certainly.  An entire cake at 3:00 in the afternoon?  You do you.

Whatever it is – it’s usually a carb.  Because when it’s my time I’m like Buddy The Elf with my food groups.

3rwe3v

Except mine are:  carbs with cheese, carbs with frosting, carbs with chocolate, and carbs with carbs.  ALL THE CARBS.  Like these parmesan bread sticks.  They’re so easy that you can even make them while clutching your stomach, swearing loudly at a number of deities because there should be more than just one to blame for what is happening to your body.  I think they clock in at about fifteen minutes.  Score!

Parmesan-Rosemary Breadsticks

IMG_0650

Ingredients:

1 tube of breadstick dough

1 sprig of rosemary, chopped finely

1/4 parmesan

salt

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (or whatever your breadstick dough tube says).

Rip the breadsticks apart and twist them.  Lay them on two baking sheets lined with parchment paper.  In a small bowl, mix together the chopped rosemary, parmesan, and salt.  Sprinkle over the breadstick dough.

Bake for 12-15 minutes, depending on the specifics for your breadstick dough.

Enjoy!

Source:  Slightly adapted from Everyday Italian

4 thoughts on “Parmesan-Rosemary Breadsticks

  1. I love me some carbs, too, but not just once a month. Was just thinking today (before I read your post!) that I seem to always crave carbs. Now you’re telling me it’s all about the hormones? I was crediting it to (blaming it on?) working out. Three cheers for easy peasy breadsticks and cake-in-a-mug and popcorn. (Is there something not right about popcorn and wine for supper? It’s my go-to meal when I’m dining solo.)

    • Popcorn and wine may not be the heartiest dinner but there is NOTHING wrong with it 😉 And I do always crave carbs! It’s just during that hormonal time that I go “f it!” to healthy eating and go for every carb laden dish there is!

Leave a Reply

