Winter Minestrone

Yesterday was one of those days where it felt like everything was going wrong, and – hey, guess what – everything totally was.  Really.  It started out with me waking up ridiculously early with a nosebleed, which apparently is what happens when you don’t use that humidifier you bought at Target a month back, and then I couldn’t fall back asleep.  I swear my body was in some sort of crazy survival mode from seeing all the blood.

anigif_enhanced-20598-1415811492-1

That survival mode actually kept me pretty wired until around three o’clock when I had a serious crash moment in the clinic office.  Thankfully, I had a box of instant hot chocolate with me – for emergencies and mid-day munchies, of course – and the sugar perked me right up.

It seemed like the day was getting better.  Class went by quickly.  I had an in depth chat with a class friend dissecting the previous week’s The Walking Dead and American Horror Story: Freak Show.  Even the walk to my car in the frigid-suddenly-under-thirty-degree-weather that rudely hit Champaign this week didn’t seem that bad.

anigif_enhanced-12217-1415828987-33

And then I started making this soup and the terrible, awful, not good day showed me who was in charge.  In the span of thirty seconds I knocked my blender into a full glass of wine – shattering the glass and getting Three Wishes cabernet everywhere – and sliced my thumb open.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-20292-1415857587-4

There were a lot of swear words.  A lot of used paper towels.  And a whole lot of me wishing I hadn’t decided to get into my wine while cooking.  Miraculously, even with the wine and glass everywhere, I did manage to still successfully make this soup.  Granted, I accidentally left half of it out in a tupperware on my counter all night (SEE, THE WORST DAY EVERRRR) but I can still eat the other half!  So, minor success!

Let’s talk soup.  I love this one.  It takes your average minestrone and spins it on its head.  Make sure you use the rosemary in this.  I’m the first one to nix fresh herbs in recipes because I’m cheap and often choose the new issue of In Style over a package of fresh anything, but the rosemary completely changes this soup.  The warm flavor permeates the entire thing.  I mean, if you really didn’t want to use it you don’t have to but…just don’t tell me.

Winter Minestrone

IMG_0657

Ingredients:

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 carrots, chopped

2 stalks of celery, chopped

1 lb kale, de-stemmed and chopped

1 russet potato, peeled and diced

1 can diced tomatoes, with juices

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 quart beef broth

2 sprigs rosemary

salt and pepper

Directions

Heat the oil in a large soup pot over medium heat.  Add the carrots, celery, onion, and garlic.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cook until the onion has softened, 10 minutes.  Add the kale and potato, cook for 2 minutes.  Pour in the diced tomatoes and cook until the potato has softened and kale cooks down, around 10 minutes.

In a blender, mix together 3/4 cup of beans and 1/4 cup of broth.  Add the bean mixture, remaining beans, remaining broth, and rosemary in the pot.  Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer, cooking for roughly fifteen minutes.

Serve with some crusty bread and parmesan!

Source:  Slightly adapted from Giada’s Weeknight Meals

10 thoughts on “Winter Minestrone

  1. My Liking of your post is in no way a Like of your day–that sounds horrible! Do not let that experience keep you from opening wine next time you cook. Breaking the glass does not usually happen 😉 So sorry things were so horrid. But kudos to you for making the best of it with your soup. Mmmm Mmmm good. Though I don’t think you would have had to throw out what sat overnight. No dairy or animal protein–did it smell bad?

    • I cooked it with a parmesan rind (so cheese) and the stock was beef. I felt like the potential food poisoning was not worth the soup, lol. Anyhoo, the OTHER half that I did properly refrigerate was delicious!

Leave a Reply

