Maple Roasted Butternut Squash

This post should really be called “That Time I Tried To Peel a Butternut Squash and Nearly Chopped Several Fingers Off.”  Actually, that’s a bit wordy.  I like what I went with.

Really, though, I could not figure out a good way to peel the squash.  First I tried using an actual peeler, but I kept nearly peeling my finger.  Then I tried to cut it off and kept slicing off the nice squash flesh.  I did end up going the knife route, but really focused on slicing as thinly as I could.  I still lost some squash, but my fingers are intact and that seems like the more important of the two.

2014-10-29 23.03.15

Especially since I made this before Halloween and my costume required all ten fingers!  I love Halloween and went so far as to buy my costume all the way in the beginning of September.  Admittedly, it was part excitement and a LARGE part costumes-are-cheap-two-months-out.  I think I got mine for something like 25 or 30 percent off.  In case you didn’t already skip to the photo below I went as Mary Poppins.  I had a little medicine bottle, spoon, and her trademark umbrella.  Plus, the costume, of course!  I hated the Blossom hat it came with, but wore it anyway.  Looking at this photo, I think I made the right choice.

IMG_2236

I’m sad Halloween is over but now I get to enter my favorite season of the year!!  I’m even MORE EXCITED this year because I found out that my family is hosting Thanksgiving for the first time.  Usually we would go to both of my grandparents’ houses in one day and be more stuffed than the turkey.  I’m so excited we’re doing things differently this year.  I already told my mom that I will be making all the sides, because sides are obviously the best part of a meal and cooking a turkey scares the bejeezus out of me.  I probably will make this butternut squash for Thanksgiving because it’s delicious.  I already love butternut squash, but then when you add maple syrup and sea salt it is practically impossible to stop eating.  Added bonus, it’s a total cinch to make!

Maple Roasted Butternut Squash

2014-10-29 23.02.55

Ingredients:

1 medium butternut squash, peeled and chopped

Olive oil

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

sea salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Prepare a baking dish with parchment paper.  Spread the squash out on the baking dish and drizzle with olive oil.  Sprinkle with sea salt and toss.  Bake for 30-35 minutes, until the squash is tender.  Drizzle with the maple syrup, toss, and bake for another 2-3 minutes.  Serve warm.

2014-10-29 23.02.41

22 thoughts on “Maple Roasted Butternut Squash

  1. Liz, microwave your butternut squash for like 1-2 minutes. This way, you should be able to peel it just fine .. using a vegetable peeler. . but I do use a pretty heavy duty one (made by Titan) and I also wear plastic disposable gloves because I always get a weird film or something sticky on my hands when dealing with butternut squash. Anyway, do these things and you’ll keep all 10 fingers in tact! 🙂 love the addition of the maple syrup here!!! brilliant!!

    • Thanks for the tip!!! I will definitely try it the next time! Also, I totally know that weird film you’re talking about. It’s my second least favorite thing about cooking squash – after the peeling!

  2. Ditto on the microwave dip! That’s been helpful for me. I love the idea of this as a Thanksgiving side dish. It’s a little lighter than the other rich, heavy Thanksgiving side dishes but still still has lots of flavor! Love the Mary Poppins costume!

  3. GIRL! I totally feel you on cutting squash, it is THE WORST! But one goes through it because it’s so amazing and flavorful, right? Your Halloween costume looks totally adorable by the way!

    • Haha thank you!!! I was so excited for that costume. I actually talked it up A TON and then was afraid it wouldn’t live up to my talking. I think it did, thankfully!

      And I am so excited to host Thanksgiving for the first time 😀

  4. love this–so simple! And glad you know the MW trick now–makes it so much easier and you get to keep all of your fingers. Which you so need to run your remote 😉 Major score on your costume, too. Very nice 🙂

    • Thank you!!! I definitely showed off my little medicine bottle and “spoonful of sugar” to everyone I ran into at my party. I also made them hold my umbrella as I rifled through my massive purse to find them 😉

  5. Your Mary Poppins costume is great! It brings to mind Saving Mr. Banks, one of my favorite movies from last year. I have never made a butternut squash side dish before, but this recipe sounds so good and easy I don’t have any excuse not to try it!

Leave a Reply

