Tzatziki (Cucumber-Yogurt)

So, I went to Target recently to buy a humidifier because I’ve been randomly waking up with nosebleeds.  TMI?  Maybe, TMI.  I’m going to go on, anyway.  Ever wake up with a nosebleed?  It’s not pleasant.  Especially when you blindly run to your bathroom, whipping your head around and flailing trying to find your kleenex, and when you finally get everything under control your bathroom looks like a crime scene.

tumblr_inline_ncb749DRqC1ro2d43

Along with the humidifier I wanted to get myself some clothes.  I went with my friend and told her that I wanted to get some comfy casual clothes, as opposed to the dresses I typically wear.  Naturally, I ended up leaving with almost the entirety of their workwear dresses.  If nothing else, I’m consistent!

Moving on to the food, one of my best friends is Greek and I just know this post will make her cringe.  Yes, this is not even a remotely authentic tzatziki.  I’m going to plead ignorance, though, and justify this with the argument that I don’t actually know how to make authentic tzatziki.  So, I didn’t know any better!

tumblr_leut89oTFl1qf8yek

Okay, I sort of did.  But this is just so simple and delicious.  It takes minutes to whip up and tastes so refreshing on an unseasonably warm or suddenly-rudely-cold-day!  It also smells like heaven, at least to me.  I don’t know about others, because when I brought this into the clinic office it did prompt several people to immediately comment on how weird the office smelled.

Tzatziki

IMG_0622

Ingredients

1 7-ounce container Greek yogurt

1 small cucumber, seeded, peeled, and cubed

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tsp olive oil

1/2 tsp minced garlic

1 tbsp of fresh dill (or more if you’re a crazy dill-lover like me!)

pinch of black pepper

juice of 2 lemons

Directions:

Combine all the ingredients except for the lemon in a bowl.  Add the lemon juice and stir.  Voila!

Source:  Lea Michele’s Brunette Ambition

16 thoughts on “Tzatziki (Cucumber-Yogurt)

  1. Oh my gosh, when I first moved from Florida to Seattle, I got nosebleeds EVERYDAY because of the chance in humidity. Finally, I went and got my nose cauterized (sounds bad but is super quick and painless) and now they’re 100% gone. If you keep having the problem, I totally suggest it!

    P.S. I LOVE tzatziki—especially on falafel!

Leave a Reply

