Goddess Garbanzos

I’m putting myself on a self-imposed grocery-shopping-diet for the next few weeks.  Namely, I will only go to the store for absolute necessities – think milk, bread, more milk.  My reason for the grocery-shopping-diet is simple: I want to waste less food.  I have a bad habit of freezing portions of meals and then not touching them until I clear out my freezer at the end of the year.  Same goes for odds and ends in my refrigerator.  My hope for the next week or so is that I can clear out a lot of my leftovers, as well as getting creative with the other food in my refrigerator.  Added bonus – I’ll spend less at the grocery store which means a happy wallet!

PEGGY-COUNTING-MONEY3

These goddess garbanzos are something I recently made out of pantry staples, and I definitely plan on making it during this week.  The best way to describe this is chicken salad without the chicken.  I know that probably sounds totally wacky, but trust me it’s delicious.  I ate this stuffed in a pita.  I ate it with Wheat Thins.  I even ate it straight out of a tupperware while standing in front of my sink (welcome to my weeknights!).  It’s one of my favorite – and most simple! – meals I’ve made lately.

Goddess Garbanzos

IMG_0624

Ingredients

1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

3 1/2 tbsp Annie’s Naturals Goddess Dressing (or something comparable)

1 tbsp mayonnaise

1 tsp lemon juice (or, just a nice squeeze if you don’t feel like measuring)

1 tsp tahini

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup celery, diced

2 tbsp apple, diced

Directions:

Combine all ingredients up to the celery in a bowl.  Fold in the celery and apple.  Serve alone or in a pita pocket.

IMG_0626

 

 

IMG_0625

Source:  Eat, Drink, Be Vegan

18 thoughts on “Goddess Garbanzos

  1. Chicken salad without the chicken sounds like my kind of chicken salad! Definitely love the sound of this…and a great way to use up some odds and ends dressings in my fridge!

  2. I also need a self-imposed grocery-shopping-diet for the next few weeks!! I think we food bloggers can all relate!!! and I hate wasting food too so I freeze like crazy or give stuff away. . there is an obscene amount of food in my freezer. This goddess garbanzos dip or stuffing is genius!! I would totally eat this for lunch or dinner!! and you’re right, way to use those pantry staples, love this!!

  3. I did the same thing this week! There is some sort of mystery ground meat in the freezer that one of Christopher’s hunter friends brought us a long time ago. It’s possibly deer or elk or even maybe beef (one of the friends is a farmer and gives us beef sometimes). I honestly have no clue what it is, but this week we will be eating it, ha! Sometimes you just gotta clear out the freezer so you don’t waste. 🙂 This looks like it worked out well!

Leave a Reply

