My Definitive List of Perfect Romantic Comedies

I watch a lot of romantic comedies.  Like, a lot.  This probably isn’t too surprising considering my recent soliluqoy on my love of the Hallmark channel.  I’m a sucker for romance!  Who isn’t?  I have to admit that I don’t branch out too much when it comes to my rom coms.  I have a select few that I find myself coming back to time and again.  I hope some of these are new titles for you guys!  Who knows, maybe you’ll find your new favorite movie?!

1.  27 Dresses

27-dresses

I saw this movie in theaters, really liked it, and subsequently bought the DVD for cheap from my local video rental store.  I probably watched it once after I bought it, and then didn’t touch the DVD again until my senior year of college.  My mom was visiting for the weekend and I let her choose the movie for the night.  Her pick was 27 Dresses.  I think I watched it three or four times that week (twice in one day, even!) and ever since it’s been my go-to.  There’s just so much to love about that movie.  Uptight Katherine Heigl in questionable fashion choices.  Cranky James Marsden.  Ugh, I love it so much!

2.  The Decoy Bride

Decoy Bride

I actually discovered this movie because of all the Doctor Who that I watch.  The male lead played the Doctor and Netflix kept recommending it for me.  Personally, I thought it would hokey.  And I was right.  It is far from a quality movie, but that’s part of its charm!  Bonus points – Michael Urie (Marc from Ugly Betty!) plays the female lead’s publicist and is all sorts of sassy.  If you have Netflix, get on it!!

3.  Love Actually

Love_Actually

This movie wins for having the absolute highest number of adorable, heartbreaking, moving love stories in one single movie.  I dare you to watch this and choose a favorite!

4.  The Nora Ephron Trifecta:  You’ve Got Mail, Sleepless In Seattle, When Harry Met Sally…

you've got mail bench

I couldn’t separate these because they’re really a package deal.  Nora Ephron set the bar for rom coms in my opinion, and what is better than to see that bar in action!  If I had to rank these, I probably would put When Harry Met Sally at the top, but you can’t forget this gem of a quote from You’ve Got Mail:

“Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address. On the other hand, this not knowing has its charms.”

Sa-woon!!!!

5.  The Way We Were

waywere

I know this is more of a drama than a romantic comedy, but I think there’s enough humor in it for me to include.  I love me some Barbra Streisand – throw in Robert Redford and some good Marx Brothers references and I’m in seventh heaven!

6.  The Sandra Bullock Collection:  The Proposal, Two Weeks Notice, Ms. Congeniality

f151_feat01

Again, I’m sort of cheating grouping these.  BUT, I am justifying this because of the fact that sometimes I find myself in a purely Sandra-Bullock-Rom-Com mood.  It doesn’t matter which one, I just want her in it.  So…there it is!

7.  The Princess Diaries

Princess-Diaries-Anne

I actually just watched this a few days ago.  I downloaded it on iTunes because – this is going to date me – I ONLY have it on VHS.  It occurred to me that it being on VHS would keep me from watching it pretty much anywhere, so I took immediate action.  I actually think the budding relationship between Mia and her grandmother (Julie Andrews!!!) might be the true love story in this movie, but it still makes the list.  Because of Julie Andrews.  And Mia’s douchy high school love interest.

JoshBraynt

Ugh, all that hair gel.

What are your favorite romantic comedies???  Give me suggestions for what to watch next!

14 thoughts on “My Definitive List of Perfect Romantic Comedies

  1. Ahh! We would be movie watching besties! These are some of my FAVORITES! The only one I haven’t seen is “When Harry Met Sally”. I know, I know. Crazy! I should get on that. But oh my goodness, I love these picks! Between this and your love for Gilmore Girls, we are meant to be late-night-tv/movie-watching buddies! 🙂 Also, I know it’s not really a comedy, but it has several funny parts – I love Pride and Prejudice. It’s one that I can watch over and over again like these! 🙂

    • The PBS version with Colin Firth?! It’s my fave!!!! That will totally go in my next list. Because after posting this I of course came up with a billion others that I love.

      Also – you’ve actually seen The Decoy Bride?! You’re of the select (and in my opinion, elite!) few 😉

  2. Hi Liz! Can we be best friends please? Thank you very much!! I love your taste in movies! I’ve seen all but the Dr Who lead one so I’m gonna watch that next lol. I love the holiday, maid in manhattan, my best friends wedding, the wedding planner. The list can go on. U get the point, we can be besties right?

    • We can totally be besties. Our matching necklaces are officially in the mail 😉

      You have to tell me how you like The Decoy Bride!!!! I adore that movie so much that I went and bought it on DVD. The love runs that deep.

      I love the movies you suggested!!! I forgot about The Holiday and the glorious wonder that is Jude Law. This makes me want to watch The Wedding Planner. I haven’t seen in it years!!

Leave a Reply

