Olive and Sun-Dried Tomato Vegetables

I think I’m the only person not liking the warmer weather we’ve been getting the past week. It’s not that I don’t like temperatures in the 80s. They’re fine. Just not at the end of September. I like my weather crisp now! Bring on the sweaters, tights, knit hats, and lightweight Fall coats! That’s what I want!! It’s equally awful because in the beginning of September we had delightfully chilly weather. I’m talking about 50 degrees days. They were perfection. I want them back!

It also doesn’t help that the law school is FUH-REEZING. So, if I dress light for my walk to school I’ll be shivering like the little match girl during class. If I dress for the law school, though, I’m sweating like a Kardashian in church after that walk.

giphy

Anyway, my cold weather will come soon enough.  Winters here are serious business, and I’m sure I’ll be complaining about it then and wishing for this warmer weather back.  So, I’m going to try to enjoy it.  Or, you know, just hide out in my apartment with the air on max wrapped in a blanket.  Sometimes I make questionable life choices.

Want to know what isn’t a questionable life choice?  Making these vegetables.  I will never understand people who don’t like vegetables.  There is just so much that you can do with them.  There literally is probably a vegetable dish for every mood.  Feeling feisty?  Get some breaded zucchini chips in the oven!  Suffering a heartbreak?  Stuffed mushroom will fill your empty heart!  Staying in on a Friday night because you want to avoid social interactions and watch Netflix?  Baked sweet potato fries, for sure.

IMG_0606

I think these olive and sun-dried tomato vegetables are definitely a suitable-for-all-moods vegetable.  They are not, however, a hungover-on-a-Saturday vegetable.  Not that I tried that.  Not at all.  I served this alongside the chicken cacciatore that I posted a a week or so back and they paired really well together.  You can even just mix the vegetables into the cacciatore.  I definitely pilfered a few black olives from it!

One thing I will note is that I found the sun-dried tomatoes a little overpowering.  So, if you aren’t a huge sun-dried tomato fan, I’d recommend putting in less or omitting them altogether.  Of course, if you do, you might want to take the sun-dried out of the name!

Olive and Sun-Dried Tomato Vegetables

IMG_0605
Ingredients:

1/3 cup plus 3 tablespoons olive oil
5 sun-dried tomatoes, finely chopped
4 tablespoons black olives, sliced
1/4 tsp dried thyme
3 shallots, thinly sliced
1 zucchini, cut into 1/2 inch rounds
1 yellow summer squash, cut into 1/2 inch rounds
1 small red bell pepper, cored, seeded and cut into 1/4 inch strips

Directions:

In a medium bowl, combine the 1/3 cup of olive oil, sun-dried tomatoes, black olives, and dried thyme. Set aside.

Heat a pan over medium heat. Add the 3 tablespoons of oil and once hot add the shallots. Sautee for a few minutes, until the shallots are translucent but not browned. Add the zucchini, pepper, and summer squash. Cook for another 10-15 minutes until tender.

Add the sautéed vegetables to the bowl with the sundries tomatoes and olives. Mix to combine.

IMG_0602

Source: Giada At Home

12 thoughts on “Olive and Sun-Dried Tomato Vegetables

  1. I love veggies! I helped convince a friend’s 6-year-old to eat veggies by saying that they’re a manly food. Somehow it ended up working!

  2. liked what you had to say about veggies–there IS so much variety and I don’t get folks who say they don’t like them. There has to be something a person would like in the veggie world. And all the better when you throw them together with other fun flavors as you did. We baked sweet potato fries last night, lol, but it wasn’t because we were avoiding social interaction 😉 Though my daughters and I did watch the Doctor and Rose in Army of Ghosts/Doomsday and cried our eyes out. Even my 8-year-old, who hasn’t followed it like the 12-year-old understood how sad it was. The oldest has sworn of Dr Who she’s so mad, but I remember doing the same and it won’t stick. The Doctor always pulls you back.

    • I was just talking to a friend about Doomsday yesterday!!! One of my other friends is watching the series for the first time, and I kept asking her if she’d watched Doomsday yet. I finally stopped asking because I realized the moment she watches it I will get a slurry of overemotional text messages! lol

      I remember when I first saw it (when it first aired actually – I randomly saw it as my first episode of DW ever!) I was SO MAD when Donna shows up in the TARDIS. Now, of course, I know how much amazingness is to come with her character 🙂

      Hopefully your 12 year old doesn’t take too long to get back in the DW swing of things!!! The Runaway Bride is one of my faves!

  3. It’s 90 degrees here to celebrate the first of October, haha! But I love the warm weather so I don’t mind it dragging out a bit. January-March is miserable enough for me to not want it to arrive any sooner than necessary. 😉

    Also, this looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

