White Bean and Roasted Eggplant Hummus

Over the past week I’ve gotten numerous texts and FB posts telling me the BIG NEWS that Gilmore Girls is finally coming to Netflix.  Of course, I already own all the seasons – including the awful final season which I really didn’t want to buy but did anyway because, come on, I needed the full set – but as one of my best friends aptly put it – now you know where to watch when your DVDs start skipping!

In case you didn’t know this – and many of you do – Gilmore Girls is my all-time favorite show.  I’ve had a lot of TV loves over the years, but Gilmore Girls remains the only show that I am always up for watching.  It fits every mood.  Every situation.  Every Monday night, and Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, too.  The Gilmore Girls love runs deep.

anigif_enhanced-25148-1410449696-1

The great thing about really good TV is that it grows with you.  What you took from an episode when you were sixteen will be completely different from what you take from it at twenty four.  Fun fact – when I first watched I wanted to be a journalist.  I had so much fun watching Rory do her high school journalism thing, and then her college thing, and post-college thing.  I feel like I grew up with her, recognizing my own hopes and aspirations in her, as well as noticing the differences.

Namely, I moved away from journalism and ended up in advertising and public relations.  Then, I ended up in law school.  Now when I watch, I find the person I relate to the most is Sookie.  I love watching her come up with recipes and freak out over the perfect tomato.  I mean, come on food bloggers, we’ve ALL been there.

Okay, so I’m not going to spend this entire post rambling about Gilmore Girls.  I mean, I COULD, but I think you guys are probably ready for me to get to the recipe.  So, in closing, I will leave you with this stellar guidance from none other than Paris Gellar on how to live your life.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-16751-1410457696-11

I’ve been having this love affair with dips lately.  I think it’s because I rediscovered by food processor and am sort of obsessed with using it.  You can do so much with it!  This dip focuses on eggplant, which has been my favorite vegetable lately.  I absolutely love how it tastes roasted, and that roasted flavor really comes out in this dip.  I served this with cucumber rounds but you certainly could serve it on toasted baguette slices!

White Bean and Roasted Eggplant Hummus

IMG_0609

 

Ingredients:

1 eggplant, trimmed and cut into 2 inch pieces

1 can of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed

1/3 cup loosely packed parsley

3 tablespoons lemon juice

1 clove garlic

1/3 cup olive oil

salt

pepper

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Roast the eggplant for 20-25 minutes, until tender.  Let cool completely.

In the bowl of a food processor, combine the eggplant, cannellini beans, parsley, garlic, lemon juice, salt, and pepper.  Mix until combined.  Gradually mix in the olive oil until the mixture is completely smooth.

Either serve on cucumbers or toasted baguette slices.

IMG_0608

Source:  Giada At Home

15 thoughts on “White Bean and Roasted Eggplant Hummus

  1. I’ve often wondered whether anyone else is as obsessed with GG as I am! ha ha… I agree that the series ages well in terms of relate-ability. As for the dip, I’ve been trying to think of other ways to use eggplant, and I like this idea! Thanks!

  2. I have never seen an episode of GG in my life! You’ve piqued my interest though! I grew up more w/ Friends and it’s still a show I can be in the mood for any time at all. Have all seasons on DVD, of course! I felt like I could relate so much and sometimes felt like I was hanging out with actual friends watching it. Frightening, huh? Lol. 🙂 Did you finish law school? I graduated a few years ago and entered the real-life working world. It’s a grind! LOVE this dip. It looks and sounds awesome. Thanks for sharing!

    • You have to try it!! ABC Family plays episodes every weekday at 10:00, and they’ll be starting up the 1st season again soon!

      I am in my last year of law school. Home stretch now! Where do you practice??

  3. Do I plan on rewatching all the episodes of Gilmore Girls when it starts being on Netflix? ABSOLUTELY. Can’t wait!! I might just have to have this dip beside me for nibbling when I do!

    • Haha, if I didn’t have the DVDs I would do the exact same thing. Although, I can see myself being SUPER lazy and just watching it from Netflix instead of having to get up and physically put in the DVDs. Because sometimes leaving the couch is a struggle. lol

      Let me know how you like the dip!!!

Leave a Reply

