Italian Pasta Salad

On the weekends the Hallmark channel does this equally wonderful and awful thing where they play romantic movies all day long.  It’s wonderful because I unabashedly love romance and I swoon at even the most overused romantic comedy trope.  The  movies are just delightful.  I don’t care if the storyline is completely implausible and the acting is as wooden as an old Christmas ornament, I love all the movies to bits.

Which segue ways nicely into why it is awful – the fact that it plays ALL DAY and I do not leave my couch ALL DAY.  Granted, I multi-task.  I do reading for class.  I update this blog (New In Town is playing right now, btw!).  I eat various meals.  Sometimes I call a grandparent or two.  But all the while, in the background, people are falling in love and adorably tripping over things and I cannot bring myself to change the channel.  Please tell me I am not the only person sucked into the Hallmark-Channel-Weekend-Rom-Com-Binge.

Blank-face

 

Okay, fine, I’m the only person.

Anyhoo, moving on from my Hallmark channel obsession, I plugged my camera into my computer this afternoon to upload the picture I’d taken this week and was surprised to find a whole host of pictures that I’d taken before the self-imposed-blog-sabbatical.  I’m going to share one of them with you guys today!  The real star of this dish is the quinoa pasta, because I was moderately sure it was going to taste weird and quinoa-ey but it ended up tasting just like regular pasta.  I’m not gluten free, but if you were it’s a great substitute.

I modeled this recipe off of a pasta salad from a local Italian restaurant in my hometown.  The place is really old school, and before your meal comes you get soup, mixed salad, cucumber salad, and this pasta salad.  The pasta salad was always my favorite growing up and I loved eating the leftovers for lunch the next day.  This doesn’t taste exactly like it, but it’s pretty close!

Italian Pasta Salad

 

IMG_0589

Ingredients:

1 box of quinoa pasta (or regular pasta)

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 green pepper, diced

1 tomato, seeded and diced

1/2 cup red wine vinegar

3 tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp honey

1 cup olive oil

salt/pepper

Directions:

Cook the pasta according to the package’s directions.  If you are making the quinoa pasta, be very careful not to overcook the pasta otherwise it will fall apart.  When the pasta is cooked drain it in a colander and rinse in cold water.

For the dressing, mix together the vinegar, lemon juice and honey.  Slowly add the olive oil while you whisk the dressing.  Season with salt and pepper.

Toss the pasta, chopped vegetables, and chickpeas with the red wine vinaigrette.

10 thoughts on “Italian Pasta Salad

  1. I don’t get into the regular romantic movies on Hallmark, but I LOOOOOOOVE the Christmas movies! I cannot get enough of those. In the month before Christmas, I DVR almost every Christmas movie on Hallmark and Lifetime! Haha.

    I have been meaning to try quinoa pasta but I was afraid it would taste too much like the grain, and quinoa isn’t my favorite. I will have to try it! This looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

