Homestyle Turkey Chili

I’ve blogged about this chili before, but it is too darn good to only talk about once.  And there’s a reason for the reblog!  While I’ve been home I’ve been trying to cook for my family on the days when I don’t work.  I figure my mom cooked for all of my childhood – and still does – so I can pick up a few stray days here and there!  I’ve been trying to make new recipes that I could put on here, but last week we had some unseasonably cool summer days and I could not resist cooking up a nice batch of chili.

Spoiler alert – they loved it.  My dad didn’t add salt – which is pretty much the biggest compliment you can get from him that is food related – and my brother had two servings.  It was a rousing success and they’re already asking when I’ll make it next.

The thing that I really love about this chili is that it is boozy.  I mean it.  The chili has nearly one and a half cups of red wine in it.  While the alcohol obviously cooks out it does leave a really complex flavor that I find other chilis lack.  The leftovers are also amazing, which is always something I like when I’m cooking!  Like any other chili, it gets better after it’s sat for a few days.  So, cook up a big pot one weekend and enjoy delicious meals for the rest of the week!

Homestyle Turkey Chili

CHILI

Ingredients:

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

8 cloves of garlic, minced

1 lb ground turkey

2 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp cumin

1 tsp oregano

3 tbsp tomato paste

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 large cans crushed tomatoes

1 1/4 cups red wine (merlot works really well)

2 cans chickpeas (you can use another bean if you like, but I really love how chickpeas don’t get mushy)

Directions

Heat the oil in a large stock pot.  Add the onion, pepper, and garlic, and cook until softened, about 5 minutes.  Add the turkey and cook until it is browned, about seven minutes.  Add the chili powder, cumin, oregano, brown sugar, and tomato paste, and give everything a good stir.  Cook for another few minutes, stirring constantly.

Pour in the red wine, crushed tomatoes, and beans.  Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer.  Cook the chili covered for an hour, stirring occasionally.

Remove the lid and simmer for another thirty minutes.

Serve over elbow macaroni or with oyster crackers!

Source:  Loosely adapted from Eat, Live, Run

 

4 thoughts on “Homestyle Turkey Chili

Leave a Reply

