Best-Ever Chocolate Nutella Layer Cake

I hope you all had a wonderful Fourth of July weekend!  I spent the majority of mine on the couch watching AMC’s Dead, White, and Blue The Walking Dead marathon, which was absolutely lovely.  I mean, what’s more patriotic than Daryl Dixon?  I’ll tell you, not much.

m_Daryl-Dixon-the-walking-dead-16988545-840-600

 

Funny side story about The Walking Dead.  I first started watching it two years ago after a very, very bad sinus infection that basically left me comatose for a weekend.  I absolutely devoured the first season.  I think I finished it off in a day or something.  It took me a bit longer to catch up on the rest, but throughout my binge watching I kept having zombie attack dreams.  It’s weird because usually I don’t dream about what I’m watching or reading, but something about the show just took over my dreams completely.

In case you were curious, I was a total BAMF in all of my zombie dreams.  I think the highlight was when I scrambled ones brain in my bathroom with a pen.  It wasn’t some nondescript ballpoint pen, by the way.  It was a turquoise astronaut pen with a little whale on the side that I actually own.  Sadly it was ruined in my backpack a few months back, which I’ve taken to mean that if the zombie apocalypse happens I’m screwed.

So, let’s talk about this cake.  It has nothing to do with zombies, but everything to do with just about everything else.  I baked it for my birthday a few weeks back and it was a huge hit with the family.  Dark chocolate cake is layered with the most delicious sour-cream nutella frosting.  I should warn you that this cake is a bit labor intensive when you’re assembling it, but it’s worth it.  If you want to make this I highly recommend looking at the original for decorating tips.  She had this adorable little piping around the top of the cake, but I ended up frosting this when company was over so I didn’t want to spend too much time avoiding conversation with my face in a cake.

Best-Ever Chocolate Nutella Layer Cake

2014-06-15 05.20.19

Ingredients:

For the Cake:

2 1/4 cups flour

2 1/3 cups superfine sugar

3/4 cup dark cocoa powder

2 1/2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 1/4 cup buttermilk

3/4 cup brewed coffee

2/3 cup vegetable oil

3 eggs, room temperature

1 tbsp pure vanilla extract

For the Frosting:

4 1/2 cups confectioner’s sugar

1 1/2 cups unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup Nutella

3/4 cup full-fat sour cream

11 ounces dark chocolate, melted

1 tbsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

Directions:

For the Cake:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare three 7-inch round cake pans with nonstick spray and parchment rounds.  In a bowl mix together all the dry ingredients, including the sugar, and set aside.  Combine the eggs, buttermilk, coffee, oil, and vanilla and beat lightly with a fork.

Mix the dry and wet ingredients together and then divide evenly between the cake pans.  Bake the first two layer cakes for 20 minutes, rotate the pans, and then bake for another 5 minutes until a toothpick comes out almost clean from the center of the cake.  Cool the cakes on a wire rack for twenty minutes.  Remain with the remaining layer.  Invert cakes onto racks to cool completely.

For the Chocolate Frosting:

Mix all ingredients in a food processor.  Refrigerate the frosting until it thickens slightly, about 15 minutes.

Assembly

Frost the cake in three stages, letting the frosting set for fifteen minutes in between each layer.  At the end sprinkle the chocolate sprinkles on top.  Let the cake sit out for ten or fifteen minutes before serving so the frosting can soften up a bit.

Source:  Sweetapolita

12 thoughts on “Best-Ever Chocolate Nutella Layer Cake

  1. shappy belated birthday 🙂 Have you had the nutella swirl pound cake? Killer–much like your BAMF turquoise whale pen and also your cake 😀 Yum yum. (cakes, not zombies)

  2. Well I guess we shall just have to cross our fingers that there will be no zombie invasion! But if there could be lots and lots of this cake in my life…that would be great.

  3. Oh man, this looks so, so, SO good! I haven’t been to the Sweetapolita site in a while, because all of the drool was making my keyboard short out. Looks like it’s time to head back! 😀

  4. This looks amazing! Ok, serious question: I’ve heard amazing things about the Walking Dead, but I’m not sure if I’m ready for a serious tv commitment right now… will I be able to resist binge-watching it or should I hold off until I finish the show I’m working my way through now? Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Thank you! On to the serious stuff – I say go for it. Yes, it will suck you in and take up all your time, but you can always alternate shows! Plus, if I remember correctly S2 is fairly short, so you can breeze through that, finish the show you’re on right now, and then jump back on the Walking Dead train!

Leave a Reply

