Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

I feel like whenever I transport cupcakes it’s shades of what I will be like as a parent.  I strap them in the backseat.  I take turns slower and whenever I stop suddenly I glance back to make sure everyone’s okay.  I’m telling you guys, driving cupcakes to parties is fantastic training for whenever I become a mother.  I’ll be like, After all the cupcakes I’ve driven to parties and school…I’ve got this traveling with kids thing down pat.

I baked these cupcakes for a close friend’s graduation party and was immediately hit with the dilemma of how to get them there in one piece.  Usually I buy two of those big disposable party trays – the aluminum foil ones – and put the cupcakes in there.  But I was running a little behind, meaning I decided to do all of this in one day and forgot to buy the trays, so I was in a bit of a pickle.  Luckily it was just my mom’s birthday and my brother and I got her a big Vera Bradley purse which just so happened to come in a nice big Vera Bradley box.

The box worked perfectly and the cupcakes made it unscathed to the party!  One of my favorite parts of these cupcakes is that there is actual eggless cookie dough in the middle.  It was so much fun to watch people bite into the cupcake and go, Is this cookie dough?!  And I, of course, would interject by telling them that it was eggless and therefore they would not be praying at the porcelain alter later that night. Because I care.

While these are pretty involved cupcakes, it’s really not that bad if you break up the work.  I would really recommend making the cupcakes the day before and leave the assembly for the day of the party.  I know I would have felt much less rushed if I did that.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

2014-06-07 04.00.01

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:

3 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups light brown sugar

4 eggs

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup milk

2 tsp.  vanilla extract

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

For the filling:

4 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature

6 tbsp. light brown sugar, packed

1 cup plus 2 tbsp. all purpose flour

7 oz. sweetened condensed milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

For the frosting:

2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup light brown sugar

2 1/3 cup flour

1/2 tsp sat

2/ tbsp milk

2 tsp vanilla extract

For garnish:

mini chocolate chips

tiny chocolate chip cookies

Directions:

For the cupcakes:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line two 12-count cupcake pans with liners.  In a bowl, mix together the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy, around 3 minutes.  Mix the eggs in one at a time.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and sat.  Alternate mixing in the flour mixture and milk into the bowl, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients.  Blend in the vanilla.  Fold in the chocolate chips with a spatula.

Pour the batter evenly in the prepared cupcake liners and bake for 18-20 minutes.  When the cupcakes are finished baking a toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean.  Allow the cupcakes to cool for 5-10 minutes in the pan.  Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

For the filling:

Cream the butter and sugar together with a mixer.  Beat in everything but the chocolate chips until incorporated and smooth.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Let the dough chill and firm up a bit in the refrigerator for about an hour.

When you are ready to fill the cupcakes, use a small paring knife to carve out a small cone shaped bit of cupcake from the center.  Fill the cavities in the cupcakes with a chunk of the chilled cookie dough mixture.

For the frosting:

Beat together the butter and brown sugar in a bowl until creamy.  Mix in the confectioner’s sugar until smooth.  Beat in the flour and salt.  Lastly, add the milk and vanilla extra and mix until smooth and well blended.

Frost the cupcakes and top with a sprinkle of mini chocolate chips and the mini chocolate chip cookies.

Source:  Annie’s Eats

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

  1. These cupcakes look delicious and I love the bit about driving with cupcakes. I’m completely the same! If I have to make a quick stop, my arm always goes instinctively out to shield the cupcakes (as a person would with a child), because obviously they must be protected at all costs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

