Bacon and Swiss Frittata

Hey guys.  I’m still here, despite there being radio silence for a good two weeks.  You see, I got in the habit of not posting during finals, and then after finals I was having so much fun doing nothing that I couldn’t bring myself to add a something.  But, work starts on Monday so my self-imposed vacation from all tasks requiring use of my brain is at an end.  I also will probably have to start wearing something other than old t-shirts and Target yoga pants.

tumblr_m0wmqq2Fmd1qjaloj

This is going to be an adjustment.

I’m entering the blogging world again with a simple recipe.  It’s partially because it’s the only meal left on my camera, but then a little bit because I’m not entirely sure I remember how to draft real recipes.  But, you all know that I never have anything bad to say about frittatas.  First, if I did my Italian grandma would have it in for me, but also, frittatas are just delicious.  They take less than twenty minutes and you have a perfectly delicious and portable meal.  I just love them.

This one uses up a lot of ingredients you probably already have in your refrigerator.  When I made mine I was trying to clean out my refrigerator.  You have to love meals like that!  Eggs are mixed with chopped bacon, swiss cheese, and a handful of spinach.  Served with a small salad on the side, or a piece of fruit, it is the perfect lunch.

Bacon and Swiss Frittata

2014-03-16 07.36.44

Ingredients:

5-6 slices of bacon, chopped

2-3 slices of swiss cheese, chopped

sprinkle of parmesan cheese

1 handful of spinach, cut into ribbons

6 eggs

splash of milk

salt/pepper

Directions:

Turn on the broiler.

Heat an oven safe sauté pan over medium-high heat.  Add the bacon and cook until crispy.  Add the remaining ingredients, except for the parmesan cheese, and stir.  Let the eggs cook, 5-6 minutes.  When the bottom and edges are set, but the middle is still runny, sprinkle the parmesan on top and put the pan in the broiler.  Cook for another 10-15 minutes, until the top is browned and the eggs are set.  Let cool slightly and serve.

2014-03-16 07.36.35

 

I hope you all have a wonderful Friday!

 

7 thoughts on “Bacon and Swiss Frittata

  1. Liz !!!! I heart everything about this post so much I can’t even. Michael J Fox! Yoga pants !! Bacon !!! See, this is why we’re friends 😀 Also, I kind of love that we’re doing this whole “getting back online” thing at the same time. xoxoxoxoxo

  2. Hi. I’m back. I just wanted to tell you that I left that first comment before I read YOUR comment on my post and now I have the BIGGEST grin on my face. Biggest. Grin. Me. 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

