Citrus Kale Salad with Blueberries & Pumpkin Seeds

I tried out for my school’s trial team last week, and it reminded me so much of my speech days during high school.  For all four years of high school I competed with my school’s speech team.  That meant I was at the school every Saturday at 6:00 in the morning wearing a suit, panty hose, and way too much eyeliner.

It’s sort of strange when I think back on those years.  Tournaments were held at high schools, and you’d have hundreds of high schoolers walking around in suits and performing speeches for judges.  There were three rounds per tournament, and then one final round for each event.

I have a lot of fond memories from those years.  There was that one time I passed out during a round (due to sickness, not nerves!) and that state tournament when I asked someone out with a napkin-wrapped cookie, my phone number scrawled on the napkin.  There were all the times my teammates and I made fun of other teams for talking to walls at tournaments (we were never allowed to do that, for good reason) and all the moments spent holed up together before postings, all of us hoping and praying we’d see our names.

Anyhoo, enough reminiscing, I owe you all a recipe!  I’ve been trying to eat more kale lately and making big salads is my favorite way to eat it outside of kale chips.  I just have a lot of love for kale chips.  This salad is wonderful because it is packed to the brim with nutrients.  You have your kale, and then blueberries, avocado, and pumpkin seeds.  Then there’s a light and refreshing citrus dressing.  It’s perfection in a bowl!

Citrus Kale Salad with Blueberries & Pumpkin Seeds

2014-03-23 02.55.03

Ingredients

1 bunch kale

2 tbsp olive oil, torn into bite size pieces

3/4 tsp sea salt

zest and juice of 1 lemon

zest and juice of 1 orange

1 tsp honey

1/2 avocado, diced

1 cup blueberries

1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

Directions

Add 1 tablespoon of olive oil and the salt to the kale.  Massage until the kale begins to wilt, a few minutes.

In a bowl, whisk together the remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil, the orange and lemon juice and zest, honey and a dash of salt.

Add the avocado, blueberries and pumpkin seeds.  Toss in the dressing and serve!

Source: Mind, Body, Green

12 thoughts on “Citrus Kale Salad with Blueberries & Pumpkin Seeds

  1. looks like a great combination of flavors–all yum! So you were on speech teams, you love theater and are now studying to be a lawyer? It’s all coming together now 😉 How’d the most recent try-outs go?

    • They went great! The tryouts were actually for two things: trial team and our Federal Civil Rights clinic. I ended up making the clinic – which means i actually will be working on and litigating a Federal case next year!!

  2. This looks amazing! So light and spring-y and delicious. The perfect quick after work or school dinner for this time of year. Also, I am loving all of this reminiscing. Asking someone out with a cookie? Amazing!! Tell me more !!!

    • Haha, okay. Ahh, where to even start! He was on a competing school’s team. We were in the same event and I had a major, major crush on him. It was the state tournament, aka likely the last time I would see him. So, there were these cookies at the hotel my team was staying at and he jokingly said i should bring him one. I did. And I put my phone number along with a little good luck note on it!

      We DID end up going on a few dates and things were going well until I predictably lost interest and fell for a boy in my musical, lol. Oh, to be a high schooler again. Remarkably, we are still friends. After what my high school self put him through, I would SO have ditched me as a friend.

  3. What fun memories! I never did anything like this in high school. Or college for that matter. I mean, I took a couple of speech classes and I had to give presentations in most of my major classes, but no debates or anything like that. Sounds like you have some great memories of that time, though! 🙂

  4. I was on the debate team for a year in high school, so I remember those tournaments well! And looking back, they were kind of weird…

    What is NOT weird is this gorgeous salad! Yum yum yum!

Leave a Reply

