Pasta e Fagioli

Like most of your Facebook pages mine is filled with advertisements.  Usually I just ignore them, because despite them being targeted they tend to miss the mark.  Just because I write does not mean I want to take writing classes.  Just because I spend an embarrassingly large amount of time looking at picture of my Facebook friends’ babies does not mean that I, myself, am having a baby.  Nor am I engaged or interested in bold pattern furniture.  BUT, on occasion, Facebook’s ads are spot on.

A few days ago there was an advertisement for fandom tea samplers from Adagio Teas.  I clicked on it because (a) I do love tea, and (b) I will click on just about anything that has the word fandom in it.  They also used a Doctor Who tea tin photo.  Facebook had me all figured out with that ad.  Anyhoo, I clicked over and found a whole page of teas based on fandoms.  When I saw ones based on Harry Potter potions, I had to buy them!

10177517_10152336113205056_1986975836_n

I’ve only tried one of the teas, and I am absolutely obsessed.  The only sad thing is that the teas are only 1 ounces each, so you don’t get a lot of each individual tea.  But, it is a great way to sample them so you know which (if any) you want to get in a full size!  I had the Felix Felicis tea today, and I gotta say, I’m feeling lucky!

One thing that I love about tea is its warmth.  When I drink a cup, I just feel all warm and cozy inside.  Soup is the same thing for me.  It’s comfort in a bowl.  While I do canned soups on occasion, I prefer to make my own.  I like to make a big pot on Sunday and then eat it for dinner throughout the week.

I always liked pasta e fagioli soup, but then this recipe made is 100x better by adding bacon. Word of wise – when you’re trying to make a dish better, just add bacon.  It’s always the right answer.  This soup also comes together pretty quickly, which is nice when you’re trying to finish your readings, blog, and cook all at the same time!

Pasta e Fagioli

2014-03-15 01.01.14

Ingredients:

4 sprigs of fresh thyme

1 large fresh rosemary sprig

1 bay leaf

1 tablespoon of oil

1 tablespoon of butter

1 cup chopped onion

3 ounces of pancetta or bacon, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

5 3/4 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth

2 cans red kidney beans, rinsed and drained

3/4 cup elbow macaroni

black pepper

1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese

Directions:

Take the thyme, rosemary, and bay leaf and wrap it in a piece of cheesecloth, tying it with kitchen twine.  In a large soup pan, heat the olive oil and butter.  Add the onion pancetta/bacon, and garlic, and sauté until the onion is softened, around 3 minutes.  Add the broth, beans, and herbs sachet.  Cover the pot and bring the soup to a boil.  Simmer on medium heat until the vegetables are tender, about 10 minutes.  Discard the sachet.

Puree 1 cup of the bean mixture (from the soup) until smooth and return it to the soup pan.  Cover and bring the soup to a boil again.  Add the macaroni, cover, and boil, stirring occasionally.  Cook until the macaroni is tender, around 8 minutes.  Season the soup with pepper.

Ladle the soup into bowls and top with the parmesan.

Source:  Giada’s Family Dinners

11 thoughts on “Pasta e Fagioli

  1. Ahh ahh AHHHH !!!! You have Harry Potter tea !!! I mean yeah, ok, that soups sounds delicious and everything, but YOU HAVE HARRY POTTER TEA !!! You have made my morning. My week, probably. I am so excited about this !!!

    • This tea pretty much made my life. I get ridiculously excited every time I brew a cup. I just wish I could bring it to school, to show off my nerdiness – but using a tea ball and all that jazz in class might be frowned upon! lol

  2. can I come clean that HP never clicked for me? I read the first book, thought it was good, but was never drawn to read further. People get crazy excited about the series, which makes me wonder what’s up. But I like tea and I like pasta fagioli and I’m all over Dr. Who (in a not crazy stalker way), so we’re good! Congrats on your fun new purchase.

  3. Those teas are SO FUN! I love the concept. And now maybe I’ll have to start paying more attention to facebook ads…

    This soup – TOTAL COMFORT. I love it.

Leave a Reply

