Irish Soda Bread

I really should have posted this recipe on St. Patrick’s Day, but I was too excited about the Veronica Mars movie.  And besides, I’m not actually Irish, so I didn’t feel an overwhelming need to spam you all with green desserts.  I’m sure you had enough of that throughout the rest of the interwebs.  While St. Patricks Day is way behind us, this bread still holds up!

On a entirely different note, as I mentioned in my Friday Faves post before, I watched Forks Over Knives recently and it made me really think differently about the foods I’m putting into my body.  Naturally, just one day after watching the movie I drove to McDonalds to have my last Shamrock Shake of the season.  I rationalized it because (1) It was St. Patricks day, which practically gives you a free pass to eat all of the artificially green foods, and (2) I thought of it as my last hurrah before trying to eat cleaner.  I felt pretty good about it all until I showed up at school with it and one of my friends greeted me with, “You know those have over 80 ingredients in them.”

Basically, I’m going to die and when they do an autopsy of me my blood will be shamrock-shake-green.  I probably should have just thrown it out then, but I come from a strong stock of non-food-wasters, so I slurped the entire thing down and then felt bad about my life choices.

Do you know what I don’t feel bad about?  Like, at all?  Making this Irish soda bread.  Yes, I got flour all over my counter.  And the loaf was way too big for a single person.  But, it was delicious, and making and eating delicious food is something I will never regret.  Oh yeah, and this recipe is also another from my Harry Potter cookbook.

Yep, no regrets here.

Irish Soda Bread

2014-03-11 07.15.00

Ingredients:

4 cups flour

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

1 tsp of salt

3 tbsp sugar

1/2 stick butter

1 large egg, beaten

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

1 cup raisins

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and grease and flour a 9-inch round baking dish.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, salt, and sugar.  Using your fingers, rub the butter into the flour mixture.  It helps to cut the butter into slices for this.  When the butter is completely rubbed in the mixture will still be very flour-ey, but there will be no big bits of butter.

Fold in the eggs and buttermilk until a dough forms.  Lastly, fold in the raisins.  Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead just until the dough comes together.  Form a round with the dough and dust the top with a little extra flour.  Score the top with an an x and place in the prepared baking dish.

Bake for 15 minutes, and then reduce the oven to 350 degrees and bake for another 40 minutes.

Cool completely on a wire rack before serving.

Source:  The Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook

12 thoughts on “Irish Soda Bread

  1. I love Irish soda bread! It’s like banana bread for me in that I never make the same recipe twice because there’s always something new to try. And now I have another one–thanks to you 🙂

    lol, the shamrock shake. I used to have one each year–from when I was teenager-ish up until a few years ago. My oldest got sick after eating one and we’ve never wanted to order one again. Here’s a DIY that is much better and has under 80 ingredients. http://wp.me/p2dvv9-EA

    • I feel like you’ll love this recipe the most because it is Harry Potter! But…I might be a bit biased on that front, lol.

      And, I will definitely have to try your shamrock shake! I recognize all the ingredients – so that’s a plus 😀

  2. I NEVER buy/crave mcdonald’s but I really want to get a Shamrock Shake every year. I usually don’t because the.boy would never let me live it down. But I want to.

    And now I really want this Irish soda bread! I didn’t have any this year and am really regretting it!

  3. My husband is obsessed with Shamrock shakes and I always mean to make him homemade ones at home and never have b/c I suck as a wife 😉 How did I not know there was a Harry Potter cookbook? Requesting it for my birthday! So cool. This bread does look great. I want to hack off a warm piece and slather it with butter!

Leave a Reply

