Texas Sheet Cake Cookies

I’ve always feared I would accidentally bake a strand of hair into a batch of cookies.  I try to put my hair up when I bake, but I have shorter layers and sometimes they won’t stay put.  Well, it happened.  And I was sitting right across from the person while he ate it.  I saw him take a bite and then show the guy next to him the cookie.  I figured he was just saying it was good, but then he looked at me and showed the strand of hair poking out of the cookie.

Mortified.  I was absolutely mortified.  I tried to make him take a different cookie, but he just shrugged nonchalantly and said, “It’s just hair.”  If that were me, I would have chucked the cookie across the room.  Thankfully, he wasn’t me.

Anyhoo, despite at least one (I hope only one…) cookie being marred by my hair, these really are delicious cookies!  As the name suggests, it’s basically cake in cookie-form.  It’s portable cake.  And that, my lovelies, is a beautiful thing.

They are also ridiculously easy to make.  The batter comes together in minutes and is really easy to handle when you’re measuring out your 1 tbsp clumps.  Then, after they bake and are cooled, you make this equally ridiculously easy icing that you literally just pour over everything.

2014-03-09 06.58.41

These cookies.  They’re so low maintenance.

Texas Sheet Cake Cookies

2014-03-09 07.01.39

Ingredients

For the cookies:

1/2 cup butter, room temperature

1/3 cup sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/3 cup flour

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted

For the icing:

1/2 cup of butter

2 tbsp cocoa powder

3 tbsp milk

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together the butter and sugar.  Mix in the egg and vanilla, making sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl frequently.  Mix in the salt and baking powder.  Slowly mix in the flour.

Using a microwave safe bowl, heat the chocolate chips in 30 second increments until melted.  Add to the dough and mix just until combined.

Drop tablespoon measured mounds of dough onto a prepared baking sheet.  Bake for 6-7 minutes, just until the edges are set and the tops no longer look wet.  It really important not to over bake these, so watch them carefully in that last minute.

Let cool on a wire rack.

Next, let’s make the icing.  In a medium sized sauce pan, melt the butter with the cocoa powder and milk.  Once melted, remove from heat and mix in the powdered sugar.  Pour over the cookies (either on a baking sheet or on the cooling rack with something beneath it), making sure they’re all coated.

Let the icing set and then remove the cookies to a container.

2014-03-09 07.02.04

2014-03-09 07.02.22

Source:  Cookies and Cups

16 thoughts on “Texas Sheet Cake Cookies

  1. OK, I’m really guilty of the hair in the baked goods!! But………I did it with DOG HAIR! To me that’s even worse. I gave a co-worker a cupcake and he showed me the dog hair after he bit into it. *barf* He just pulled it out and ate it. Glad guys aren’t phased by hairs in baked goods – haha! The WORST MOST EMBARRASSING hair in a baked good was found in a cookie I submitted to the state fair for judging. They put it in the notes “found a hair in the cookie.” AAAA! Soooo embarrassing. I can’t remember if it placed but I’m thinking NOT! I can’t believe they even still let me submit stuff to the fair for judging after that! haha! Anyway, these cookies are sooooo awesome – I love the idea of Texas Sheet cake in cookie form!!

  2. I am soooo paranoid about hair ending up in my baked goods. My hair is almost waist length so I can easily pull it back, but I shed like a cat and it ends up everywhere. These cookies look awesome! Even if they contain a bit of hair 🙂

    • The problem is I have all these short layers and bangs, so even when I put my hair up it’s never reallly all up. I’m just so happy that kid got the hair-cookie, because one of my professors ate one later in the day and I would have pretty much had to have dropped out of law school if he got the hair-cookie.

  3. oh goodness–those look amazing. I’m bad with the hair thing, too, and appreciate your friend’s casual attitude. Worst for me was when I was a baker and sat down at a break with a friend of my aunt’s and my aunt and the friend found a hair in her muffin. Which I had just made. 😦

    • I’m glad to see I’m not the only person with shedding problems! lol I feel a lot less bad about the whole situation. And it really is the worst when you are sitting with the person when they find the hair. The absolute worst!!

  4. Oh man, that happened to me once (though it was in something I’d made for dinner – a casserole, I think) and I was mortified! Thankfully it was just my group of teenagers who were over, but still! If that had happened with my friends around, I never would’ve lived it down. Glad he was so chill about it. That could’ve been even MORE awkward!

    • haha, right?? I was very lucky that I got a cool one who ate the hair-cookie. I actually ended up running into a professor later that day and he asked for a cookie. I’m just glad he wasn’t the one who got the bad one! That would have been beyonnnddd mortifying!

  5. Hello great blog! Does running a blog such as this take a lot of work?
    I’ve virtually no understanding of computer programming but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyways, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject nevertheless I just had to
    ask. Thank you!

  6. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

