Grilled Shrimp with Orange-Scented Quinoa

So, this recipe is noteworthy in that I’m moderately sure it helped me discover a latent shellfish allergy.  It’s always buckets of fun over here, right?  I ate this while watching the Oscars (so good by the way, Ellen should just host everything with Tina and Amy) and then got REALLY itchy.  I figured it was just some weird night-itching or something (that’s a thing, right?) but the next day the itching continued.  And I’m talking about serious itching.  The kind where you’re squirming in class, wondering if people will notice if you start going at your calf with your pen.  People do notice, by the way.  You know, in case you were curious.

Naturally, when I was walking around feeling like a walking pincushion, I tried to figure out what caused it all.  In my pursuit, I took a cue from Casablanca’s Captain Renault.

1)  I’m allergic to my detergent.

2)  I’m allergic to my new (amazing) lotion.

3)  I’m allergic to those damn shrimp.

4)  I’m allergic to the law school.

Well, I haven’t changed detergents, my lotion hasn’t bothered me before, and while sometimes I think I am allergic to the law school, chances are these symptoms would have flared up earlier if that were the case.  So…shrimp it is.  It sort of makes sense because I haven’t had shrimp in ages.  Now I know some of you are probably thinking, you’re too old to get a random allergy, Liz!

I Google-ed it, guys.  And Google never lies.  Except, you know, when it does.  But I checked it out with my own personal WebMD (aka my father) and allergies can, in fact, creep up later in life.  So, I think it’s safe to say that shrimp and my relationship is officially over.

casablanca

Despite my less-than-awesome reaction to this meal, I swear it tastes good!  I want to make everything orange-scented now.  Orange-scented rice.  Orange-scented oatmeal.  It just makes things sound fancy.  This meal is wonderful because it literally comes together in less than thirty minutes.  And, as a busy law student, I’m always happy when I don’t have to slave in front of the oven.  The library gets jealous when I slave anywhere else.  If you don’t have trouble with shellfish definitely give this a try!

Btw — these are nighttime picture below, so I apologize for the wonky coloring.  After my allergic reaction I didn’t want to handle the shrimp again.  So, nighttime pictures it is!

Grilled Shrimp with Orange-Scented Quinoa

IMG_0466

Ingredients:

For the quinoa:

1 1/2 cups quinoa

grated zest of 1 large orange

1 tsp kosher salt

For the shrimp:

1 1/2 lbs shrimp, peeled and deveined

3 tbsp olive oil

2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

For the dressing:

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup fresh orange juice

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Extras:

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley

Directions:

For the quinoa:

Bring 2 cups of water and the quinoa, orange zest, and salt to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and cover. Cook until all the liquid is absorbed, 10-12 minutes.  When cooked, fluff with a fork and let sit, covered, for 10-12 minutes.

For the shrimp:

Place a grill pan over medium heat and drizzle with olive oil.  Lay the shrimp on the pan in a single layer.  Cook 3-4 minutes per side, until cooked through.

For the dressing:

Mix together the olive oil, orange juice, lemon juice, salt, and pepper until smooth.  Set aside.

Assembly:

Mix together the quinoa, dressing, chickpeas and parsley.  Lay the shrimp on the top and serve.

IMG_0467

Source:  Loosely adapted from Giada’s Feel Good Food

6 thoughts on “Grilled Shrimp with Orange-Scented Quinoa

  1. now that is sad. And also ironic as it came from a book with Feel Good in the title. Huh. Am sorry to hear about the shrimp allergy. Hopefully you will outgrow as quickly as you grew into it. I was allergic to our cat for two days after we brought her home, then that went away. So maybe it will change?

    Despite the bummer topic, your post was fun to read. And orange-scented everything sounds lovely.

    • My dad made a good point that I could have had a reaction to whatever the shrimp ate. Which is super gross to think about, but, that would mean I could eat shrimp! I probably won’t try it again for a while, though.

      And I’m glad you enjoyed the post! I probably had a little *too* much fun finding all the gifs/pictures to put in, lol.

  2. Jack Harkness is here! Hi, Jack !!! Er, I meant, hi Liz. I’m happy to see you too, I really am. Bummed about your shrimp allergy though! I love shrimp! And I love the sound of this recipe – a little citrus is just what I need to perk things up around here. 😀

  3. Sad day! Christopher is convinced I’m allergic to shellfish because nearly every time I eat it, I break out in a rash and get itchy, but sometimes I don’t! And while it’s not fun, it’s worth it to me to deal with in order to eat shrimp because I love it so much. I actually just bought some today to make buffalo shrimp to go over a salad. Yum! 🙂 It sounds like you had even more of a reaction to it than I do, though. 😦 It’s sad to give things up that we like so much!

    • Ugh, buffalo shrimp sounds so good!!! My dad made a good point that the reaction could have come from whatever the shrimp ate. But, I still think I’m going to go off shrimp for a while. At least until I’m home and I can try it with an epipen safely next to me!

Leave a Reply

