Cooked Apples with Cinnamon

This weekend was  pretty momentous for Harry Potter fans.  In an interview with Emma Watson, JK Rowling (aka the genius who created Harry Potter) admitted that she regretted putting Hermione and Ron together.  Going even further, she hinted that it should have been Harry and Hermione paired up instead.  Naturally, the fandom imploded.

what is happening reaction gif

Personally, I could care less who JK Rowling actually thinks Harry Potter should have ended up with.  For me the books are canon and whoever anyone ends up with is who they end up with, end of story.  But I do love watching fandoms freak out over stuff.  I’d say they’re crazy, but let’s be honest, I’ve been one of those crazy fans.

I think these cooked apples would be the perfect treat to pacify those hurting Hermione-Ron-fans.  Simmered in just a bit of water and lemon juice, they are delicious, comforting, and the perfect remedy for when your favorite author breaks your heart.

Cooked Apples with Cinnamon

2014-01-31 03.02.59

Ingredients:

4 apples, cored and peeled

Juice of 1 lemon

1 tbsp sugar

1/4 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp water

Directions:

In a bowl combine the cinnamon and sugar.

Thinly slice the apples.  Layer each apple into a medium-sized saucepan, following each layer with a sprinkle of the cinnamon-sugar mixture and some lemon juice.  After the last layer – there should be about four – sprinkle on the rest of the cinnamon-sugar mixture, lemon juice, and the water.

Heat the apples over a stove until the liquid boils.  Cover and cook over low heat until the apples are tender, 10-15 minutes.  The apples are delicious served by themselves, but could easily be paired with yogurt or ricotta cheese.  Pair it with some vanilla ice cream for a tasty dessert!

IMG_0396

Source:  Slightly adapted from French Women Don’t Get Fat

12 thoughts on “Cooked Apples with Cinnamon

  1. Oooh I haven’t read that book. Is it a good read? Does it have lots of recipes? I love cooked apples. I make them sometimes and put them in yogurt (or ice cream). I’ll give this recipe a whirl next time I do.

  2. Haha! I think Hermoine and Potter would have been a good match – but then who is Ron left with? He needs a girl like Hermoine!
    I love cooking apples in Winter time. Sometimes I add pears too. So delicious!

    • Cooked pears are on the menu for this week!! And, yeah, I’m pretty sure I held a candle for Hermione-Harry at some point when I first read them. But then the movies did such a good job of building up the Ron/Hermione relationship (more so, I think, than in the books) that I really bought into it. Plus, I really like Ginny and Harry!

  3. Mmm… these look delicious! I love apples and cinnamon so this is a winner! Also, when I read the books I totally thought Harry and Hermione were supposed to be together, but I wasn’t too devastated when Hermione ended up with Ron. I was a little surprised about Harry and Ginny, but I wasn’t upset. I mean, it was Harry Potter and I loved those books, haha!

Leave a Reply

