Sautéd Kale, Mushrooms and Cranberries

Most of the pictures I took of this side dish make it look like the most drab and depressing veggie dish out there, but I promise you it is not!  Look at this live-action-cooking picture I took…

IMG_0380

See how bright and vibrant it is?!?! I blame the fact that I took these photos at 7:00 at night (the one above was taken with the stove light on) for the dark vibe.  Or maybe it’s because I made it while watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II – arguably the darkest HP movie.

That’s it, actually.  I blame Voldemort.

But, honestly guys, this is a bright and cheery side dish.  If you’ve never had kale before, this is the perfect way to try it.  Kale goes deliciously with the tender mushrooms and sweet cranberries.  I’ve had kale a lot of different ways, and this just might be my favorite way!

Sautéd Kale, Mushrooms and Cranberries

IMG_0385

Ingredients:

2 tbsp butter, room temperature

1 tbsp olive oil

1 leek, only the light green and white parts

1 shallot

8 0z. mushrooms, sliced

12 oz kale, de-stemmed and chopped

1/3 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup chicken stock

salt/pepper

Directions:

Melt the butter and the oil in a large sauté pan.  Slice the leek and shallot thinly and add to the pan with the mushrooms, stirring frequently.  Cook until the vegetables are softened, around 6 minutes.  Add the kale and cook until wilted, around 8 minutes.

Add the chicken stock and cranberries, and bring to a boil.  Scrape the browned bits of the bottom and cook for another one to two minutes. Salt and pepper the dish to taste and serve warm.

Source: Giada’s Weeknight Meals

7 thoughts on “Sautéd Kale, Mushrooms and Cranberries

  1. Oh yes, it is definitely Voldemort’s fault! That would explain all my terrible late-night-food photos. 😉 Your live-action shot makes it look pretty tasty, though!

  2. Ooh, this is good. I like this blaming Voldermort business. I’m seeing this becoming a thing in my day to day life:

    “Amb, this meeting started 10 minutes ago” “Sorry, Voldermort.”
    “Amb, HOW is your closet so unorganized?” “I don’t know! Voldermort?!?”
    “Amb, are you going to start being a grown up and seriously planning your future now?” “No time – Voldermort!!!!”

Leave a Reply

