Kreacher’s French Onion Soup

Today’s soup is brought to you by this charming house-elf.

Krech

This is another winner from my Harry Potter cookbook.  I’m having way too much fun with all of these recipes.  It’s even more fun now that I’m doing my Harry Potter re-read and I’m coming upon a lot of the different dishes in the books.  What can I say, I’m a nerd.  But, you all knew that already.

I’ve been having a major craving for this soup lately, but the screwy Chicago weather has left me house-bound without any onions.  As you can imagine, it’s pretty difficult (I’d even say impossible) to make french onion soup without onions.

When I first made this I was worried that it wouldn’t live up to the french onion soups I’d gotten in restaurants.  My main worry was that I didn’t have gruyere to melt on top – and as this was during Champaign’s ridiculous snow storm, not to mention finals, there was no way I was driving to the grocery store just for some cheese.  Besides, impromptu grocery store trips are mid-semester shenanigans.

I realized, though, that what makes french onion soup taste the way it does is not the cheese, but the richness of the broth from simmering the onions in it for all that time.  I was not disappointed with this soup in the least, and I’d recommend it to anyone looking for something different to make during these cold weeks!  As it’s -10 here (bbbrrrrr) I’ll definitely be enjoying some.

Kreacher’s French Onion Soup

2013-12-10 09.26.28

Ingredients

4 medium onions

1/2 stick of butter, melted

salt/pepper

1/4 tsp sugar

1 tbsp all purpose flour

6 cups beef stock

Parmesan cheese, for serving OR gruyere cheese

Directions

Peel the onions and slice them as thinly as possible.  In a heavy soup pot, melt the butter.  Add the onions and season with salt and pepper.  Stir in the sugar and cook until the onions have softened, about 15 minutes.  Stir in the flour and gradually add the stock, constantly stirring while you bring the soup to a boil.

Reduce to a simmer and cook uncovered for 30 minutes.

Ladle the soup into bowls (oven-safe if you are going to melt gruyere in the oven) and if you are going the parmesan route, simply sprinkle the parmesan cheese over the tops and serve with crusty bread.  If you are melting gruyere on top, sprinkle 1 tablespoon of slivered gruyere and 1/2 tsp of raw onion on each bowl.  Broil in the oven until the cheese is browned and bubbly.

2013-12-10 09.27.03

14 thoughts on “Kreacher’s French Onion Soup

  1. I love french onion soup, and you, because HOW DID I NOT KNOW THERE IS A HARRY POTTER COOKBOOK ?!?!?!?!

    Pretty sure you just changed my life here, Liz 🙂

Leave a Reply

