Circus Cookie Krispie Treats

Guys, these treats are the best.  I feel like I say this all the time, but these are REALLY the best, because they’re insanely delicious and come together in about fifteen minutes flat.  And you don’t have to turn on the oven.  And they’re crowd pleasers.  And I’ve also heard they cure cancer and have an answer to, “How many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie roll pop?”, but I can’t verify that.

IMG_0306

I bake for my SBA meetings every Thursday and I’m always looking for something fun and different to bring.  I get sick of making the same cookies over and over again.  I always tweak the recipe a bit so that I can post it on here, but it gets monotonous after a while.  Some rice krispie treats were exactly what I needed to break myself out of my cookie rut!

These are like rice krispies on crack.  You know, if inanimate objects were capable of doing hard drugs.  It’s your basic rice krispie treat loaded with coarsely chopped frosted animal cookies.  Each bite you get the smooth marshmallow, crispy puffed rice and then crunchy sweet animal cookie bits.  It’s one dynamite recipe, and one that definitely has me dreaming up new rice krispies treats!

Circus Cookie Krispie Treats

IMG_0304

Ingredients

5 tbsp butter

16 oz mini marshmallows

1 13oz bag frosted animal crackers, coarsely chopped

8 cups rice krispies

12 oz white chocolate

sprinkles, for decorating

Directions

In a large pot melt the butter.  Add in the marshmallows and stir until combined.  Remove the pot from heat and mix in the rice krispies and animal crackers until they are all coated in the marshmallow mixture.

Pour into a greased 9×13 pan and pat down.  Melt the white chocolate in a microwave safe container – zapping it for 30 second increments until it is melted.  Pour over the rice krispie treats and spread evenly.  Add sprinkles.

Let the chocolate set and then slice and serve.

Source:  Cookies and Cups

4 thoughts on “Circus Cookie Krispie Treats

    • Thank you!!! I actually got these from Cups and Cookies (or Cookies and Cups…I can’t remember the order of the name, lol). She has so many amazing rice krispies recipes on her blog. Now I want to make all of them!!

Leave a Reply

