Funfetti Cake Batter Blondies

I’m currently typing out this post while eating cold BBQ Pork Fried Rice directly from the takeout container.  I like to imagine that I look all cute like a scene out of Gilmore Girls where they eat amounts of food that would make a linebacker feel comfortably full.

I also fully ascribe to their dialogue here.  I’d take fried rice over a man any day.

While I’m shooting for GG, I’m pretty sure I look more along the lines of Jabba the Hut.  If I don’t post on here for a few days, it’s probably because I’m no longer on this earth due to death-by-fried-rice.  Man, that’s a way to go.  Or death-by-chubby-hubby-ice-cream.  I think I like that one better.

I’ve been getting an alarming amount of takeout lately.  I didn’t have time to cook while I was preparing for my final last week which has resulted in me doing a grand backslide into the world of fried foods and delicious grease.  Of course, I love it.  Who doesn’t love foods that’s terrible for you?  But, it’s time for me to reel it in.  Otherwise, I’m going to turn into Jabba the Hut and then no one will want to marry me.

JabbaPromo

I’m glad I don’t have these funfetti blondies in the apartment anymore because it would make it absolutely impossible to transition into healthy eating.  Granted, I always have cookies around, but these are on a whole different level.  I had some leftovers after I made them, and I literally ate three squares in a row.  Granted, I cut mine a lot smaller than recommended so that I could feed more people (so it probably amounted to one normal square) but still.  I shoveled three in a row into my mouth.  Oh, yeah, it was also nine in the morning.  With these cookies, I cannot be tamed.

2013-10-03 08.03.09

These taste just like cake batter.  One of my friends was literally in shock over just how spot-on the flavor is.  He also might have been in shock because I forced the cookie on him at softball.  But hey, forcing cookies on people isn’t a crime.  If it were, I’d have been in a jail a long time ago.

Funfetti Cake Batter Blondies

2013-10-03 08.05.17

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, melted

1 large egg

3/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1 cup flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup white choco chips

1/2 cup semi-sweet choco chips

1/4 cup rainbow sprinkles

1 tbsp rainbow sprinkles for the tops

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper.  Mix together the melted butter, egg, vanilla and sugars.  Add the flour, salt and stir until just combined.  Fold in both chocolate chips and the sprinkles.  Pour into the prepared pan and sprinkle the last tablespoon of sprinkles over the top.

Bake for 18-24 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Let cool for at least 1 hour before slicing and serving.

Source:  Averie Cooks

4 thoughts on “Funfetti Cake Batter Blondies

Leave a Reply

