Seven Layer Dream Bar Cookies

Several exciting things happened this week.  First, I took my Business Associations final on Monday, and while it was an experience akin to being stabbed repeatedly in your eye with a bobby pin it does mean that I never have to think about the business judgment rule or dividends again.  That makes me very, very happy.  Second, I discovered Lana Del Rey which has led to me obsessively listening to her Born To Die album.   It’s very different than the usual music I listen to, but I think that’s why I like it so much.  I love show tunes, but sometimes you need a break from Patti Lupone shrieking.

Of course, I still love me some Patti Lupone shrieking.  She’s insane when she performs and I would have her no other way.

I listen to a lot of music when I bake or cook.  Usually it’s stuff from musicals, which translates into me dancing around my kitchen as I pretend to be whatever character is singing.  In case you’re wondering, I make a fabulous Elphaba.  I make an even more fabulous Phantom.   Whenever I listen to musicals I can’t understand how people don’t like them.  It’s like, do you have something against good music?  Or godlike singers?  OR AMAZING TALENT?

Alright, Broadway rant over.  Sometimes I get over-Broadway-excited.  Anyway — on to the cookies.  These are actually the second batch of cookies I made this week.  I made white-chocolate-candy-corn cookies last night and then promptly served them all without taking pictures.  This has become a habit of mine.  Which, you know, is not good when you have a food blog to run and all.  Luckily I got my act together for these, and it is majorly lucky because these are delicious.  It’s your classic dream bar (or Hello Dolly bar for those of you who know it by that name) stuffed into a cookie.  That means a cookie chock full of chocolate, butter scotch chips, graham crackers and coconut.  You know what else that means?  Lots and lots of people fawning over your cookies.

So, if you like delicious cookies and attention, these are for you!

Seven Layer Dream Bar Cookies

2013-10-24 06.00.48

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup flours

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp corn startch

pinch of salt

1 1/2 sticks of butter, softened

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup crushed graham crackers

3/4 cup butterscotch chips

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Cream together the butter and two sugars.  Mix in the egg and vanilla.  In a separate bowl mix together the flour, baking soda, corn starch, and salt.  Add to the wet ingredients and mix until combined.  Fold in the graham crackers and both candy chips.

Form two-tablespoon-mounds of dough and place on a large dinner plate.  Cover with plastic wrap and chill for at least two hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Bake for 9-10 minutes.  The edges will be set and center slightly puffy.  Let set on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes and then cool completely on a wire rack.

Source: Averie Cooks

2 thoughts on “Seven Layer Dream Bar Cookies

Leave a Reply

