Chickpea Tacos

Yesterday I made the cardinal mistake of wearing closed-toed shoes after getting a pedicure.  I went right after class and forgot to throw my flip flops in my car.  I figured if I let them dry long enough I’d be fine.  Spoiler alert – I was wrong.  Even after sitting for twenty minutes (TWENTY MINUTES!) my big toes ended up getting smudged on the edges.  My reaction when I took off my shoes for the first time was something like this…

Luckily they’re not too smudged, but all I can think about is how I wasted 25 dollars on a pedicure that I ruined myself.  Way to go, Liz!

Anyway, the point of this post is not to complain about my pedicure.  Or to complain in general, which I’m sure surprises more than a few of you.  The point of this post is to remind you all of these amazing chickpea tacos.  I’ve posted them twice already.  They were on the old blog once, and then on here in January.  But they are too delicious to keep in the archives.  Also, I’m making them on Monday and could use a bit of a  refresher.  So, for your benefit (and mine) I present chickpea tacos!

These are a fantastic weeknight meal.  They’re quick to make, and the leftovers are great thrown in a salad or with some quinoa.  Or, you know, you could make more tacos.  Whatever floats your boat.  One quick note for these is make sure when you roast the chickpeas you cover your baking sheet with either tinfoil or parchment paper.  I didn’t do that once and the marinade is a you-know-what to get off the baking sheet.

Chickpea Tacos

Ingredients:

1 14 oz. can of chickpeas

2 tsp chili powder

1 1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp onion powder

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp lime juice

2 tbsp water

8 taco shells

Taco trimmings:  salsa, cheese, guacamole, shredded lettuce

Directions:

Combine the chickpeas with all the spices and the lime juice and water.  Let it marinate for at least thirty minutes.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and spread the chickpeas out on a prepared baking sheet.  Roast for 20-25 minutes, until the chickpeas are nice and crunchy.

Serve in taco shells with all your favorite taco trimmings!

Source:  Peas and Thank You

8 thoughts on “Chickpea Tacos

  1. Oops! That sounds like a mistake you won’t be making again 😛
    The tacos look mouthwatering! I can’t begin to count the different variations I’ve made with tacos, using all vegatbles – no meat.
    Part laziness, part deliciousness!

Leave a Reply

