Curried Chickpea Soup

I swear that I always get sick within the first month of school.  I don’t know if it’s the Champaign air, or maybe it’s all the old books in the law library, but I end up all snotty and coughing.  By the way, you don’t realize how awful a nagging cough is until you are in a classroom and you end up sort of making awkward strangled noises as you attempt not to let out a whole lot of noise while your professor is explaining the difference between an employee and an independent agent.  It’s equally awful in the law library.  Of course, as a blogger I sort of love the awfulness because it gives me something to write about.

Speaking of old law books (Which I know I mentioned a gazillion sentences ago but just go with it, okay?), I had a professor last year who ended up in the emergency room because of an allergic reaction to spores that he’d been exposed to from some old  treatise.  He came to class about twenty minutes late with swollen cheeks and a glib remark about how he had to get a shot on his bottom side.  Law school professors  – they are way more entertaining than you’d think.

Anyway, when I’m under the weather all I want is something warm and comforting.  I don’t care that it’s 90 degrees and my bangs are getting an awkward cowlick from my sweaty forehead.  It doesn’t matter.  I just want some soup.

This soup is jazzy.  That is the only word appropriate to describe the melding of chickpeas, curry powder, and lemon.  The curry powder gives the soup an almost smoky flavor, and then the lemon juice adds some acidic brightness.  Chickpeas lend a velvety bite and the spinach gives you some green pop.  It’s one jazzy soup, folks.

Curried Chickpea Soup

Ingredients:
 
1 can chickpeas
4 cups chicken stock
1 cup spinach or kale, chopped
1 tsp curry powder
lemon
 
Directions:
 
Bring the stock to a boil.  Add the chickpeas and curry powder, and cook for 10-15 minutes.  Add the spinach or kale, and cook until wilted.  Stir in the lemon juice.
4 thoughts on “Curried Chickpea Soup

Leave a Reply

