Pan-seared Brussels Sprouts with Lemon

I started working out again yesterday after my usual several month hiatus and, oh my word, my body doesn’t know what to do with itself.  I did pilates, which in itself isn’t that taxing, but all the ab work has my torso revolting.  I forgot the awfulness known as the series of five for abs.  It’s pure torture.

I have to say, though, the resulting endorphins are pretty great.  After I finished my workout I dove back into my Administrative Law reading and didn’t feel like flinging my book across the room.  Progress, folks.

You might be wondering what sparked my sudden interest in fitness.  It’s a two part answer.  First, I spent most of the day preparing for my first week of class, and was at the point where if I had to read another case I might have ended up in a criminal law case book.  Second, due to my pre-school-stress-levels, I huffed down no less than three cookies with lunch, which usually wouldn’t faze me but I also had two the day before and the day before, and I’d rather not create a stuff-your-face-with-sugar pattern.  That’s reserved for finals time.

Whenever fitness squeezes its way back into my life, I find myself eating cleaner.  I think it’s the mentality that if I busted my ass earlier on the treadmill or mat, I shouldn’t mess it up with something like Meatheads.  Not that I don’t eat Meatheads.  As everyone knows down here, that burger joint and I have a very good relationship.  I’d even say we’re exclusive.  For the typical day-to-day meal, though, I like to eat healthier.

You all are going to think I’m joking, but my favorite healthy food is brussels sprouts.  I don’t care what people say, brussels sprouts are delicious.  I think all the hate comes from not preparing them properly.  You can’t just boil brussels sprouts.  That’s boring and does nothing for them.  In fact, I’d say that for most vegetables.  Go beyond boiling.  Your taste buds will thank you.

I got this recipe from Gwyneth Paltrow’s Goop website way back in my freshman year at Loyola when it was only a weekly email that was sent to its handful of subscribers.  Most of the recipes on there are a little too health freak for me, but this one caught my interest and has held it for five years.  When I make brussels sprouts, this is the only way I will make them.  Cooked brussels sprouts are sauteed in olive oil and then garnished with a touch of sea salt and lemon.  It’s a simple preparation that lets the true (and pleasant!) taste of brussels sprouts come through.

If you’re a b-sprout fan, and even if you’re not, please give this recipe a try.  You might just find your new favorite vegetable!

Pan-seared Brussels Sprouts with Lemon

IMG_0257

Ingredients

1 lemon

1 tsp sea salt

brussels sprouts (how ever many come in a package)

1 tbsp olive oil

Directions

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add the brussels sprouts and cook until a knife slides easily through their centers, roughly 8 minutes. Remove the brussels sprouts and let cool before slicing in half.  

In a saute pan, heat the olive oil.  Add the brussels sprouts, cut side down, and cook until browned, 3-4 minutes. Flip them over and repeat on the other side.  Remove to a serving plate and sprinkle with sea salt and lemon juice.

Source: Goop

5 thoughts on “Pan-seared Brussels Sprouts with Lemon

Leave a Reply

