Grilled Pork Chops with Cinnamon-Apple Chutney

Being back at school has made me appreciate home cooked meals.   I’ve become accustomed to being fed.  Not literally, of course, I’m not that coddled, but I have gotten used to meals being made for me.  Now I need to plan, and shop, and at some time before 6:00 actually go into my kitchen and cook.

For the most part, except for the rare weekday night where I want nothing to do with my kitchen (on weekends, the kitchen and I are always on good terms), I really don’t mind cooking.  It’s just this first week or so where I’m getting back in the swing of things.  I swear I had to teach myself how to grocery shop again.  I went earlier this week to pick up the basics, and when I got home saw that what I considered “the basics” was comprised largely of breakfast items, Wheat Thins, and Italian Ice.

I can tell it’s going to be a slow start to this school year, mentally speaking.

I made another grocery store run (I baked some cookies for a school event) and along with the butter and chocolate chips threw in some food that could moonlight as an actual meal.  This dinner came from that grocery store run.  I saw they had some pork chops on sale and I planned to use them to make my usual herb-crusted pork chops.  As the day went on, though, I wanted something different, so I did what I usually do when searching for recipe inspiration.  I Google-ed “pork chops” and then found a recipe that I completely changed when I  didn’t have half the ingredients in the apartment.

IMG_0251

The original recipe was a spiced pork chop with apple chutney.  What I ended up with was a simple grilled pork chop with a warm cinnamon-apple chutney.  Think of your classic pork chop and apple sauce, and then make it 800x better.  Voila!  You officially have this dinner.  I could not get over how amazing the cinnamon-apple chutney turned out.  I planned on saving half for the next night’s dinner, but it was so delicious that I ate the entire thing.

This meal is also great because it comes together in about 30 minutes.  So, let’s recap.  It’s delicious.  It’s speedy.  And, you didn’t read this before, but it’s healthy.  If you need any more reasons to make this meal, well, then you are much pickier with your meals than I am and I really don’t know what else to tell you.  Just make this.  The end.

Grilled Pork Chops with Cinnamon-Apple Chutney

IMG_0252

Ingredients:

4 pork chops

salt/pepper

3 apples, cored and cubed

1 tsp cinnamon

3 tbsp cider vinegar

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1 tbsp butter

Directions:

Melt the butter in a sautee pan and add the cubed apples.  Cook until the apple is lightly browned, roughly 4 minutes.  Add the cinnamon, cranberries, cider vinegar and a pinch of salt.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 8 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat the grill pan.  Season the pork with salt and pepper on each side, and then add the pork to the grill pan.  Grill for 4 minutes one each side, or until the meat is cooked through.

To serve, spoon the apple chutney on top of each pork chop.  Serve with a vegetable or green salad.

IMG_0250

Source:  My brain with a little help from Cooking Light.

 

6 thoughts on “Grilled Pork Chops with Cinnamon-Apple Chutney

  1. This sounds delicious! It seems like you are getting back into the swing of things just fine 🙂 No, but I know what you mean- I just went back to school and it is tough getting back into the routine.

Leave a Reply

